Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Damaged Mega Man Example


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 Damaged

Damaged

    Stand By, Ready! Set up!

  • GMC Member
  • 924 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 19 November 2004 - 08:58 PM

Title: Damaged Mega Man Example
Description: This example shows you everything you'll ever need to know about mega man
Type: .GM6
GM Version: GM6.0 (Registered)
Link: Damaged Mega Man Example
Filesize: 666 KB
Other Info: I made this example based on the gigantic amount of emails and PMs I got asking for my Hard Hat code. So I have decided to make an full on mega man example. Here is what the example contains:

-Running
-Jumping
-Sliding
-Getting Hit
-2 Enemys
-1 Boss
-Stage Select Screen
-Customizable game pad
-Saves game pad buttons
-Animated background
-Animated floor
-Room Fading
-Health Bar
-Boss Health Bar
-Ammo Bar
-2 Different weapons (after you beat spark man)
-Pause Screen
-Health Pickups
-Ammo Pickups
-Get weapon screen
-Death
-Lives
-Game Over
-Death Animations
-Use of parent objects
-Plenty of comments

This is a pretty complete example, but is meant for ADVANCED users. I do not want my PM box getting loaded down with questions on how to use it. I think I did a pretty good job of OVER commenting, so if you are having trouble, most likely its because of your GM knowlege, not my example

1 Quick note: The colorizing function is strange, so mega man turns green when you change to spark, not yellow. I didnt feel it to be that important to customize a color for an example.

Hope that I can see some great new mega man game made with the help of this example

Enjoy,
Damaged


Replies to topics in this forum are held to a high standard. Reviews must have a critique or suggestion for use to be approved. Read the rules here.


  • 0

#2 Sparx

Sparx

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 393 posts

Posted 19 November 2004 - 09:09 PM

This is a great engine Damaged, one i will most definently use in the near future. Thanks for taking some of your time to make this great example and share your knowledge. Thanks
  • 0

#3 Cobra Banshee

Cobra Banshee

    Core Commander

  • New Member
  • 822 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 02:01 PM

Cool, will use in my platform games. Welcome to my credits :rolleyes:
  • 0

#4 Gosupuru

Gosupuru

    Virus

  • New Member
  • 144 posts

Posted 20 November 2004 - 04:04 PM

finally, something to help production
  • 0

#5 dr. light

dr. light

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 76 posts

Posted 21 November 2004 - 06:36 PM

sweet. now i just need to make wallskip and charge shots work

also, i dont see how you got it to continue from certain point if youve been there b4?
maybe i just didnt see the right object
  • 0

#6 Damaged

Damaged

    Stand By, Ready! Set up!

  • GMC Member
  • 924 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 21 November 2004 - 07:04 PM

Lets, see, look in deathFadeObj at the end of alarm[0];

if global.hasPast = 1
{
room_goto(sparkManLevel1);
}
if global.hasPast = 2
{
room_goto(sparkManEnt);
}
}

Now, look in the creation events of the sparkManEnt and sparkManLevel1. There are varaibles called global.hasPast. Thats how its done
  • 0

#7 mandeep16

mandeep16

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 82 posts

Posted 20 June 2005 - 04:19 PM

could you make this a gamemaker 5 example (unregistrerd) please
  • 0

#8 paulcun

paulcun

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 4 posts

Posted 11 November 2006 - 02:49 AM

hey it'it's chris. i am new with the scripting part of game maker but i am learning a lot from the megaman example game on game maker. but there are still a few things i am having trouble with. these are:

1.making enemies drop health when you destroy them
2.stopping the game for about a second when you pick up health
3.charging up your weapon to make a stronger bullet
4.how to make megaman dash
5.how to make a talking scene like you can't move and the letters come up one at a time but fast, if that makes any sense
6.when you beat a boss they become grey on the stage select screen

if you can tell i am trying to make a megaman X style game rather than a megaman game. any help you can provide will be great even if it's just an email with the script for these things and i'll put them in myself. i have been learning a lot from the example game and slowly starting to get the hang of it but i just don't really understand how the bosses or enemies move. the only problem is i don't have a registered version of game maker, i fixed of this problem in the example when you teleport in and the color moulds or changes or something you could only do in the registered version.

so any help with these would be greatly appreciated and you will recieve a huge credit it in my game.
  • 0

#9 Kylo

Kylo

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 118 posts

Posted 19 December 2007 - 12:43 PM

Just browsing along. This engine is very, very good! But I'd like to know how to charge too.
  • 0

#10 OmegaZero

OmegaZero

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 122 posts

Posted 09 January 2008 - 01:40 AM

This engine is awesome!

If I use this, I'm putting you in my credits, at the top! :P

Edited by OmegaZero, 10 January 2008 - 01:35 AM.

  • 0

#11 JishHD

JishHD

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1428 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 10 January 2008 - 12:20 AM

I'm a little confused with this tutorial...can you only play the game if you have a gamepad or a joystick? All I have is a keyboard and mouse and nothing happened at the main menu..I hit every single key and it didn't work :). I read through some of the code and I take it that if you don't have a gamepad then you can't control the game, right?
  • 0

#12 Very Melon

Very Melon

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 118 posts

Posted 12 January 2008 - 09:28 PM

Very good example, Damaged! Your name is in my credits list!

By the way:

1.making enemies drop health when you destroy them
...
5.how to make a talking scene like you can't move and the letters come up one at a
time but fast, if that makes any sense

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


On first Paulcun, you could just put the "With chance of 20, execute next action" or something. That makes them appear quite seldom but you could put 10 for little ones and so on.

On fifth, you could make it a timeline for appearing letters and make completely different objects for non-moving objects.
  • 0

#13 GlassMan

GlassMan

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 151 posts

Posted 04 May 2008 - 09:26 PM

This'd certianly help. My brothers and I are making a Mega Man-styled game featuring Proto Man. You're on the credit list.
  • 0

#14 thelegend0fzelda

thelegend0fzelda

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 55 posts

Posted 26 May 2008 - 09:53 AM

Very nice, indeed, but I did find a glitch, if you keep pausing after you've beaten sparkman, it'll eventually leave you in the room without leaving, (this happens when you pause it right when megaman is about to teleport.)
  • 0

#15 Metalwario

Metalwario

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 112 posts

Posted 18 June 2008 - 01:20 PM

hey it'it's chris. i am new with the scripting part of game maker but i am learning a lot from the megaman example game on game maker. but there are still a few things i am having trouble with. these are:

1.making enemies drop health when you destroy them
2.stopping the game for about a second when you pick up health
3.charging up your weapon to make a stronger bullet
4.how to make megaman dash
5.how to make a talking scene like you can't move and the letters come up one at a time but fast, if that makes any sense
6.when you beat a boss they become grey on the stage select screen

if you can tell i am trying to make a megaman X style game rather than a megaman game. any help you can provide will be great even if it's just an email with the script for these things and i'll put them in myself. i have been learning a lot from the example game and slowly starting to get the hang of it but i just don't really understand how the bosses or enemies move. the only problem is i don't have a registered version of game maker, i fixed of this problem in the example when you teleport in and the color moulds or changes or something you could only do in the registered version.

so any help with these would be greatly appreciated and you will recieve a huge credit it in my game.


I experimented a bit with the scripts and tried to get as close as possible to charge a weapon.
I used 4 more alarms, and another script.

This is something like the script for chargeshots

/////NOTE: This script is performed in the S release eventif charge<=0{ sound_stop(charging sound) sound_stop(chargedsound) charge=0}if charge=3{ instance_create(x,y,chargeblast) charge=0 if sprite_index=megamanstandleft {sprite_index= megamanshootleft; alarm[0]=2} if sprite_index=megamanrunleft {sprite_index=megamanshootleft; alarm[0]=2} if sprite_index=megamanjumpleft {sprite_index=megamanjumpshootleft; alarm[0]=2} //NOTE: You'd just copy these for the other direction, changing left to right}

then in the key press S event add
alarm[<whatever number alarm you use>]=30
Then in that alarm

if keyboard_check_released(ord('S')){charge=0}if global.weapon=2 //spark weapon{exit}elsealarm[<again, whatever number you decide to use>]=2

In the other alarms

charge= //1 for first stage 2 for second 3 for full chargealarm[<first alarm event used>]=20

It goes somewhat like that. The only glitch I've found is that if you let go of S around the second alarm event, it'll stay charged and the next time you press S, you'll let out a normal shot along with a charge shot at the same time.
  • 0

#16 Very Melon

Very Melon

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 118 posts

Posted 29 November 2008 - 08:41 AM

This is indeed very good example. Only thing I'm missing climbing ladders.

~Very Melon
  • 0

#17 Mother Eater

Mother Eater

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 17 posts

Posted 22 January 2009 - 08:11 PM

666 KB?

Also, there is a bug. If you pause while Sparkman is charaging his spark, he stays like that forever.

Edited by Mother Eater, 22 January 2009 - 08:39 PM.

  • 0

#18 lfcamara94

lfcamara94

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 8 posts

Posted 11 February 2009 - 12:35 AM

thank you its the best example and with this i can begin programing the ia for my bosses in my megaman game
  • 0

#19 Sonic911229

Sonic911229

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 12 posts

Posted 04 July 2009 - 01:33 AM

Hey Damaged!

Play Megaman Zero then add the sword to the engine.
  • 0

#20 CyrosFangus

CyrosFangus

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 01 December 2010 - 10:02 PM

hi im a complete newbie, i have one question. If i was using this engine for my original bosses how do i add their face images to the stage select screen.
  • 0

#21 ItZGENSON

ItZGENSON

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 03:18 AM

I am lost what is start
  • 0

#22 ItZGENSON

ItZGENSON

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 22 posts

Posted 03 March 2011 - 03:25 AM

NVM
  • 0

#23 sheepmanbuddy

sheepmanbuddy

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 11 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 18 April 2011 - 04:02 PM

Hi! I added a Snake Man part for the example(making a full game) and when snake man finishs playing his music and goes to his level, it will return to the loading snake man screen and loop.
I read the codes for this stuff, but I can't find what's wrong?
can someone help?
  • 0

#24 icuurd12b42

icuurd12b42

    Self Formed Sentient

  • GMC Member
  • 15783 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 06 July 2011 - 04:56 AM

Std Msg: please fix your tutorial/example so it does not change the display setting of the client PC (The Tutorial Clean Up Crew).
  • 0

#25 Elllio

Elllio

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 February 2012 - 05:52 PM

How would I add more things in the inventory ?
  • 0

#26 Joshj99

Joshj99

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 207 posts

Posted 24 February 2012 - 12:18 AM

How do I necropost an 8 year-old topic?

Oh.
  • 0

#27 Psalms23

Psalms23

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 163 posts

Posted 02 March 2012 - 11:59 AM

Maybe add one more sprite or
//Comments
to change the kb lol?

Edited by Psalms23, 02 March 2012 - 11:59 AM.

  • 0

#28 Magma_Cube

Magma_Cube

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 22 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 19 October 2013 - 12:38 PM

Here's how to necropost.

1.Exit GM and open google.

2.Search for an old site that has a thread/topic that is 8 years old.

3.post there

4.you necroposted.


  • 0

#29 Jamesziggy

Jamesziggy

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 29 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 23 July 2014 - 07:55 PM

yeah guys !

I was wondering how do you add more weapons in the pause screen ?


  • 0

#30 hannes1

hannes1

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 3 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 24 July 2014 - 02:13 PM

Great work, you juste made my day. I love the blue bomber :)


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users