Photo

View all code as GML

Best Answer ELS, 28 March 2016 - 10:03 PM

I think I'll stick with Game Maker, while I would be more comfortable with code GM seems pretty easy to learn and I like the approach it takes to a lot of things not to mention the amount of resources already available.

Thanks for the prompt and comprehensive answers, marking this as resolved.

Go to the full post

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ELS

ELS

GMC Member

• 3 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 28 March 2016 - 09:06 PM

I'm a programmer by trade and have put together a few rooms/mechanics using the drag and drop editor. I'm wondering if there's a way to see everything as code(GML) - I would find it much easier to read and write. 

Sorry if this is something simple but I've taken a quick look through GM studios interface and the forums and haven't been able to find anything. Maybe my google-fu is just weak.

#2 RekNepZ

RekNepZ

GMC Historian

• GMC Member
  • 718 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 28 March 2016 - 09:09 PM

I don't think so. GameMaker's GUI isn't programmed in gml, and I doubt they're planning on going open-source any time soon.

AczgxAZ.png

^kept in my sig for historical purposes^

#3 TsukaYuriko

TsukaYuriko

Remember... and never forget

• Global Moderators
  • 9535 posts

Posted 28 March 2016 - 09:11 PM

Edit -> Show Object Information.

This will display all attributes of all object resources, including code. Scripts, shaders and room and instance creation code will not be displayed. Scripts and shaders are stored in plain text in their respective resource folders in your project's folder. Room and instance creation code is stored in the corresponding room's file in the rooms folder in your project's folder.

This is the closest you will get to what you're looking for when we're talking about GM:S' native functionality.

Outside of that, there's an external IDE called Parakeet 2, which may be worth taking a look at.

yBGBXQa.pngmWOQbeq.png