• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 TetriTek Entertainment

TetriTek Entertainment

GMC Member

• 5 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 14 March 2016 - 07:11 AM

Hey everyone, this is my first post here, so pardon anything I do out of the ordinary.

I'll start off by introducing myself. My name is Joshua Johnson, and I was born and raised in Utah. I'm a 23 year old self taught artist, music producer, and game designer. I've been drawing for about 17 years now, and I've been experimenting with game making since I was about 12. As far as music goes, I've been teaching myself for running on 7 years now, and I exclusively use FL Studio to create my work. My producer alias is TetriTek, and due to my many hobbies I decided to start my own 'brand' or 'company' if you will. 

Since the beginning of the year I began a game project on my own. After creating a main character sprite I just started having idea after idea, and things just started rolling. So after a few months of work, I've finally got something to show for it.

Keep in mind, I've been doing all of this in my free time, and have been doing all of the work on my own. Not to mention this is my first real game since I started learning how to program.

The controls are as follows:

WSAD = move around (W also enters doorways, the arrow keys may also be used)

J = shoot (eventually)

K = jump (Space bar may also be used)

the reason I have the keys set up the way I do is to sort of make use of the home row keys, people should be relatively comfortable with their hands placed in a basic typing position (although shifted over to rest on WSAD) The amount of keys that can be accessed this way makes for easy adding of controls and features while still hopefully being able to keep the controls easy to use, easy to access, and hopefully easy to understand.

In any case, this is my new game, Dax Element. To download a demo, click here.