• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 nicko786

nicko786

GMC Member

• 7 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 17 February 2016 - 04:38 PM

I've recently started learning GameMaker and have a game in mind I want to make (platformer) and was wondering if there was a reason so many games in the showcase seem to be pixel based graphics? Is there a reason for this, or just preference? I'm not a pixel artist but think I can draw well enough to make my sprites non-pixel (vector? HD? Not sure the term!). 

#2 Suspense

Suspense

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 175 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 17 February 2016 - 04:47 PM

Because pixel graphics are nostalgic to a lot of the people learning to program at the moment. They are also easier to work with and create.

#3 nicko786

nicko786

GMC Member

• 7 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 04:54 PM

Yeah, I agree. Just wasn't sure if there was maybe even a technical reason that it's preferred or if it really is just preference/nostalgia. 

#4 TheSnidr

TheSnidr

Heavy metal viking dentist

• GMC Elder
  • 3345 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 05:14 PM

It's a stylistic choice. Pixel art is an art form - some keep it simple, while others take it to the extreme (like Owlboy, which is made in GM). GM supports vector art and sprites of practically any size, so unless that's your preference, there's no reason to stick to pixel art.

Sticking to pixel art has nothing to do with skill level.

Edited by TheSnidr, 17 February 2016 - 05:14 PM.

#5 RangerX

RangerX

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 3429 posts

Posted 17 February 2016 - 11:01 PM

I am also of the opinion that while pixel art has been the only "medium" once in the past, today its simply an art style. There are tons of games of that art style just like there are tons of indie games that also aren't. Its a matter of preference. 

Go with the graphic style that pleases you first.