• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Over50club

Over50club

GMC Member

• 3 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 19 January 2016 - 03:07 PM

Good afternoon everyone,  This is my first post here and I'm seeking advice on this software, I would like you to be as honest as possible, I can take criticism as long as you're not offensive.  First let me fill in the details.

I am a long time gamer, I'm over 50 (yes, I'm that old) and I've been gaming since the 1970's.  However I have never done any programming or game creating whatsoever and in that respect I am as "newbie" as they come. 

A friend gifted me GameMaker Studio on steam for christmas, using the line "You keep telling me how great old games are, now you can make some and show me!" was a joke really and I never thought of seriously using it until this week, I figured why not give it a go?  But before I try, I thought I'd join the forums and get some expert feedback from you people. 

I'll be totally frank here, I don't expect to be able to use this at all, I have never done programming, heck my DVD player baffles me at times and I'm not quick to learn things.  also my schooling was a disaster of epic proportions, I failed all my exams back in the late 1970's and when it comes to mathematics, anything over adding and subtraction and its over my head. 

So, I'm wondering, should I really give this a go?  I mean I know its going to be a disaster and I'm not likely to create anything worthwhile, so am I wasting my time?  Can a schooling failure actually program software?  I wouldn't have thought it possible but I'm eager to read your thoughts on the prospect.

(Thanks for reading this far, yes I tend to waffle on and on, sorry about that)

#2 chance

chance

GMC Member

• Global Moderators
  • 8762 posts

Posted 19 January 2016 - 04:08 PM

(snip) Can a schooling failure actually program software?  (snip)

No, but they can form billion dollar companies that control most of the world's software.