Photo

Design Patterns and Principles in GameMaker (or: "Organising Code")

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 Stratadox

Stratadox

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 927 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:20 PM

Hello :)

It's relatively easy to write GML code.
It's also very easy to write Bad GML code.

This topic is meant to discuss how best to organise and write Good GML code.

What do I mean by Bad GML code?

As a professional software developer, I shall not allow any of such monstrosities in my code base, not even for a hobby project!

When I add new functionality to any project, I do so in the following way:

How do all of you keep your projects from becoming overly complex and unmanageable?

greetings[0] = 'hello';
greetings[1] = 'world';
repeat for_all(greetings) {
  show_message(this_one());
}
Get repeat for_all here

#2 slayer 64

slayer 64

Slayer of gingers

• GMC Member
  • 4301 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 11:11 PM

i like to start new projects and copy over code, organizing it in the process.

5y5rs3d.pngfg0UQNL.png

#3 Erik Leppen

Erik Leppen

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 2751 posts

Posted 01 December 2015 - 02:24 PM

How do all of you keep your projects from becoming overly complex and unmanageable?

I wish I knew.

As a professional software developer, I shall not allow any of such monstrosities in my code base, not even for a hobby project!

Yes, that's the ideal world. However, as I have learned, many (if not most) professional code environments do not work that way. Far from that. I know a place that violates almost every rule, and no, it's not a GameMaker project. Really, compared to that place, the Turmoil codebase is a neatly organised, shining transparent diamond of code that reads like a novel. However, standing by itself, I feel that the best way to dscribe how Turmoil is organised, is: "well, it works".