Photo

Networking - Server crashes randomly when client is outside local network.

gm:studio

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
14 replies to this topic

#1 Pixelated_Pope

Pixelated_Pope

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 338 posts

Posted 24 June 2015 - 12:33 AM

HI all.

So I just started playing with networking in GameMaker, and I started working on a simple chat client/server setup to get my feet wet.  Everything seems to work fine on my local machine.  I can have several clients all connected to the server and all chatting to each other; disconnecting, reconnecting, etc.  But as soon as someone connects from outside my local network, the server becomes... unstable?  I'm not sure what causes it, but my server just crashes with no error message.  I just get the windows "Application has stopped working" message.

They can chat and everything, but at some point the server crashes.  I have no experience with debugging network issues, so I don't have the first clue where to start with this issue.  Any ideas?  I know there's not much info to go on, I can share my project if anybody is willing to look into it and see if they can reproduce it.

D3svqFp.pngen_generic_rgb_wo_60.png

Currently in a "beta" state.  Working on the new graphic overhaul right now!

#2 G-Games

G-Games

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 1130 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 25 June 2015 - 07:22 PM

Try and see if you sometimes get invalid data when you receive data. This could cause a potential crash, depending on how you've set up your game. When starting to develop multiplayer for my game, locally it ran perfect. However, when connecting with a friend of mine who runs Windows 7, I discovered some GM:S built-in networking issues. I should totally point these out some day.

Anyhow, here's the list of "don'ts", and they (almost) all have to do with buffer writing (please note that all these were tested with a byte alignment of 1 and 2):