Jump to content


Photo

Farewell GameMaker 8.1


  • Please log in to reply
121 replies to this topic

#51 Mike.Dailly

Mike.Dailly

    Evil YoYo Games Employee

  • Administrators
  • 5277 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 21 May 2015 - 08:55 PM

Boat crashes into rocks due to too many sounds playing at once....


  • 20

#52 TsukaYuriko

TsukaYuriko

    Remember... and never forget

  • Global Moderators
  • 9535 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 21 May 2015 - 09:50 PM

So that's why the Titanic crashed! It's all Microsoft's fault after all!


  • 6

yBGBXQa.pngmWOQbeq.png


#53 Mrbear91

Mrbear91

    Bear Games Dev

  • GMC Member
  • 97 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 21 May 2015 - 10:42 PM

M9vkCku.gif
 


  • 2

coollogo_com-13168104_zps6w7ocqzz.jpg

Silent Warfare v1.3 Out NOW! Jam 18 Rank: 47

http://gmc.yoyogames...opic=662454&hl=


#54 Alice

Alice

    Toolmaker of Bucuresti

  • GMC Member
  • 1392 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 08:33 AM

M9vkCku.gif

M9vkCku.gif


  • 1


LShy6C6.png


#55 Forester

Forester

    The One And Only Enragement Cat

  • GMC Member
  • 412 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 11:29 AM

<Insert madatory M9vkCku.gif here>
 
 
Only veeeery recently have I changed to Studio, coz it was too laggy on my old computer.
The only thing I am going to miss from the old version, is the way I can quickly test but 1 function without having to save...
 
Otherwise, #Studio is the future...the future...the future...the future...the future...the future...


Edited by Forester, 22 May 2015 - 11:30 AM.

  • 0

gg guys - wp

Forester.jpg
soundcloud - twitter - facebook - ask.fm - advc


#56 GameGoblin

GameGoblin

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 4325 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 11:42 AM

Let's make a game about GameMaker 8.1 for GameMaker 8.1 with GameMaker 8.1. We won't get any better chance to drop the butter on the flo *slips and falls down*
  • 1

#57 Greenhawk

Greenhawk

    Gue Games

  • GMC Member
  • 722 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 12:07 PM

Wow, it's been four years! I still remember the yoyogames sandbox in its prime and then all of a sudden, GameMaker 8.1 came out. Farewell Game Maker 8.1. Let this video be a message of remembrance and the look into the future.


Edited by Greenhawk911, 22 May 2015 - 12:12 PM.

  • 2

Games Made:

 

Youtube Channels:

One of the many GMC Gurus.


#58 Forester

Forester

    The One And Only Enragement Cat

  • GMC Member
  • 412 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 12:34 PM

Timeline of discontinued stuff:

  • 1991 - Amino
  • 1991 - (around 2007 I think) - Stuff (Game Maker 1 2 3 4 5 http://pub58.ezboard...makercommunity/ GameMaker.nl)
  • Game Maker 6
  • Game Maker 7
  • Late 200x's - Game Maker 8
  • Late 200x's - Softwrap.dll
  • 2009 - Mark Overmars
  • 2012 - Yoyogames Forum
  • 2015 - Game Maker 8.1
  • 2017 - Yoyogames
  • 2017 - Game Maker Studio 1.x
  • 2018 - Sandy Duncan
  • 2018 - Mike Dailly
  • 2020 - Game Maker Studio 2.x
  • 2020 - Playtech
  • 2021 - UniMaker Studio
  • 2024 - UniMaker Studio X
  • 2025 - Unity Technologies
  • 2025 - Micro Studio
  • 2027 - Visual Micro Studio
  • 2030 - Visual Microsoft Studio
  • 2037 - Microsoft
  • 2038 - All the users
  • 2040 - World.
  • 3000 - *gets shot by mike*

Edited by Forester, 22 May 2015 - 12:38 PM.

  • 1

gg guys - wp

Forester.jpg
soundcloud - twitter - facebook - ask.fm - advc


#59 redspark

redspark

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 156 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 12:52 PM

I still dip into GM4Mac to test out some quick and simple ideas.  I don't know what it is but it just "feels" easier since it is a native OS X app and less bulky with only one file to worry about.  

 

However, all of my hardcore implementation happens in Studio.  I'm looking forward to upgrading to Studio 2.0 and hope that there will be a Mac version in the near future.  I miss the ease of use that GM4Mac gives me as a Mac user.  Having to run a Windows VM inside of OS X tends to be prone to issues and Studio never gets to use the full resources of my computer like the video card.  It makes it difficult to develop a serious game.

 

Anyway, GM 8.1 was awesome for it's time and although sad to see the end of an era of good times, Studio has already replaced the old GM for everything that I want to do -- especially with the marketplace.   Such an awesome feature!


  • 0

#60 TsukaYuriko

TsukaYuriko

    Remember... and never forget

  • Global Moderators
  • 9535 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 12:54 PM

  • 2040 - World.
  • 3000 - *gets shot by mike*

 

Took him long enough. In my case, he did it without hesitation. He had a huge... Banhammer Rifle Scythe, and his willingness to use it was equally large. <_<


  • 1

yBGBXQa.pngmWOQbeq.png


#61 Forester

Forester

    The One And Only Enragement Cat

  • GMC Member
  • 412 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 02:37 PM

@TsukaYuriko I meant that they discontinue support for the "Gets show by mike" functi--*gets shot by mike*


  • 0

gg guys - wp

Forester.jpg
soundcloud - twitter - facebook - ask.fm - advc


#62 Mike.Dailly

Mike.Dailly

    Evil YoYo Games Employee

  • Administrators
  • 5277 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 07:01 PM

I like how Russell gets to stay on past the end of the world....


  • 8

#63 TsukaYuriko

TsukaYuriko

    Remember... and never forget

  • Global Moderators
  • 9535 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 07:23 PM

His feckin strawberry milkshake makes him invincible. ;) (Almost.)

Hence why you can continue stabbing people until 3000... he used (a part of?) his feckin strawberry milkshake ta giv'ya one mo' chance.

 

But ye were defeated dat time.


  • 2

yBGBXQa.pngmWOQbeq.png


#64 xshortguy

xshortguy

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4355 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 07:35 PM

I remember downloading my first version of game maker (4.1) on Mark Overmars personal web site. (http://www.cs.uu.nl/people/markov) The link no longer works and I'm sad. But GameMaker has come a long way since being acquired by YoYoGames.


  • 2
Check out my Profile's About Me Page for some useful links.

#65 JeffJ

JeffJ

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 527 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 08:16 PM

I remember downloading my first version of game maker (4.1) on Mark Overmars personal web site. (http://www.cs.uu.nl/people/markov) The link no longer works and I'm sad. But GameMaker has come a long way since being acquired by YoYoGames.

 

Damn, I didn't come in until around 5.3A. I do remember when added d3d functionality was the biggest news though. 

And back when gamemaker.nl had its own official GameMaker showcase. I still have some of those games laying around... One of them being a Matrix game with hilarious sound effects.


  • 0

spoileralertsignature.png     jefftwittersignature.png


#66 Evilgrapez

Evilgrapez

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 17 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 09:39 PM

see, what's gonna happen now, is a new gm will be created by someone, one that's really basic and easy to pick up and use. and the cycle starts all over.

You're totally right. I wouldn't be surprised if that happened.

 

Personally, I didn't like GM 8.1 that much, and liked 8.0 better. But it's too bad it's gone now and replaced with Studio. Sure, Studio is still a great program (I have no problem using it, and it's fun to mess around with), but I'll always miss the original. :(


From the sound of it, you've never used the original. Only as far back as 8.0?

 

Oops, you're right. I meant 8.0 Too bad I can't seem to edit it now.


  • 0

#67 Andy

Andy

    GMC Veteran

  • GMC Member
  • 1988 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 May 2015 - 11:47 PM

I remember downloading my first version of game maker (4.1) on Mark Overmars personal web site. (http://www.cs.uu.nl/people/markov) The link no longer works and I'm sad. But GameMaker has come a long way since being acquired by YoYoGames.


Wow, I started at: v4.2 We must have started GMing around the same time! :)
  • 2

Please visit my website, Andygames.com today!

 


#68 Le_Beholder

Le_Beholder

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 89 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 23 May 2015 - 04:46 PM

oh no..... 

 

 

mon deu.  to think i have started 2 major projects, learning all i had to learn over the course of 7 years all throughout high school even, in order to make a Metalslug and Advancewars clone.... 

 

only to learn i might be forced to switch to and relearn (and purchase) a new system......

 

 

i weep for my hobbies now. infact i am crying in french. 

 

ooh hoo hooo.. monmeee......... oooh hooo...... pourquoi moi??.....

 

eh. guess this is no time to be crying in french now is it?


  • 0

#69 Lukan Spellweaver

Lukan Spellweaver

    Gay Wizard Freak & mcmonkey's plaything

  • GMC Member
  • 3704 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 23 May 2015 - 05:03 PM

YOU ARE NOT BEING FORCED TO SWITCH.
IF YOU OWN 8.1, IT WILL CONTINUE FUNCTIONING.

Maybe they will hear me if I yell?
  • 3

DeEuDARh.pngi1SR21Q.png

Find me on Itch.io | GameJolt | YouTube | Twitter | Facebook | Website | Ask.FM

 GMC Google Hangout | I liek monkehs

The GMC, here lies she. Kicked to the curb, with nary a word. She shall live on, though. Remain strong, bros.

Also: MIKE DAILLY TOLD ME TO UPDATE MY SIGNATURE


#70 slayer 64

slayer 64

    Slayer of gingers

  • GMC Member
  • 4301 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 23 May 2015 - 09:25 PM

YOU ARE NOT BEING FORCED TO SWITCH.
IF YOU OWN 8.1, IT WILL CONTINUE FUNCTIONING.

unless i want to re-install it, but then i can't download it from yoyo anymore and i have to download it from elsewhere and get a virus.
  • 0

5y5rs3d.pngfg0UQNL.png


#71 Peridot Gaming

Peridot Gaming

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 27 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 23 May 2015 - 10:58 PM

 

YOU ARE NOT BEING FORCED TO SWITCH.
IF YOU OWN 8.1, IT WILL CONTINUE FUNCTIONING.

unless i want to re-install it, but then i can't download it from yoyo anymore and i have to download it from elsewhere and get a virus.

 

Um.. no.  They have said repeatedly that if you do not have the installer, you just need to contact the helpdesk.


  • 5

Find me on: itch.io  |  GameJolt  |  Website  |  Facebook

 


#72 slayer 64

slayer 64

    Slayer of gingers

  • GMC Member
  • 4301 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 24 May 2015 - 11:25 PM

YOU ARE NOT BEING FORCED TO SWITCH.
IF YOU OWN 8.1, IT WILL CONTINUE FUNCTIONING.

unless i want to re-install it, but then i can't download it from yoyo anymore and i have to download it from elsewhere and get a virus.

Um.. no.  They have said repeatedly that if you do not have the installer, you just need to contact the helpdesk.

what a pain, the download link should just be sitting on their website somewhere.
  • 0

5y5rs3d.pngfg0UQNL.png


#73 Mike.Dailly

Mike.Dailly

    Evil YoYo Games Employee

  • Administrators
  • 5277 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 25 May 2015 - 01:05 AM

slayer 64.... get over it. It's gone. We've explained our reasons, if you don't like them then ask the help desk for your copy and they'll provide you with it. You can then keep the copy yourself and never have to worry. So quit bitching about it.

 

Studio is monumentally better than 8.1, from simple things like the GUI layer and DX9 support, to amazing new features like vertex buffers and custom formats, shaders... box 2d physics.... binary buffers, new audio system, and all the new exports. On top of this, it gets rid of the stupid double compressed  file format that could corrupt files and kill them.

 

You have it if you need it - so it doesn't even matter to you. Let it go and get over it.


  • 2

#74 Andy

Andy

    GMC Veteran

  • GMC Member
  • 1988 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 25 May 2015 - 03:07 AM

I don't think GM8.1 should be on the main website.

I do think there should be an archive, of all old GM versions, on the forums.
I was once told that this would cause help desk/bug report issues (people wanting technical support for older versions).

I doubt this would be the case if they were here. Having them on the forums, with a warning post telling everyone there will be no support for them, would keep that from happening.

I am very happy to hear that you will be able to retrieve 8.1 though the help desk though.


  • 2

Please visit my website, Andygames.com today!

 


#75 Mabemba

Mabemba

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 15 posts

Posted 15 July 2015 - 12:24 AM

Is there still a way to install the software if I have the original downloader?  I try to open it up, and it just opens 50+ copies of itself, one every second, and I cant even restart the computer.  I have been working on a game for a long time and dont have the money to upgrade to Studio right now.

 

Please reply.

 

 


  • 0

#76 TsukaYuriko

TsukaYuriko

    Remember... and never forget

  • Global Moderators
  • 9535 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 12:34 AM

Studio Standard is 100% free. No money required to upgrade to that! ;)

 

Anyway, the installer works fine for me.


  • 2

yBGBXQa.pngmWOQbeq.png


#77 Yal

Yal

    Even though the GMC may be gone, our love will prevail eternally

  • Global Moderators
  • 11774 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 07:51 AM

 I try to open it up, and it just opens 50+ copies of itself, one every second, and I cant even restart the computer.

 

You could try to unplug your internet cable so that it will get a well-defined error message from the OS, I guess? I used to have to have my internet cable unplugged a while to be able to start GM because of communication errors before during a bunch of beta versions. (And before that, I didn't even have an internet connection at all for a while, but... that's another story)


  • 0

- The above is my personal opinion and in no way representative of Yoyogames or the GMC, except when explicitly stated -

 

Open this spoiler for my games:

Spoiler

Some useful game engines, music and other resources at affordable prices:

My collection of game resources at itch.io

 

New user? Can't draw but want to look unique? You can request a new avatar in this thread!


#78 fel666

fel666

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1883 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 10:06 AM

That moment when you realize that no, yal did not just illegally bump a post :P

But yeah, I still don't understand why people still use GM8... And yet, new post sprout everyday, asking about a using studio features in GM8

Edited by fel666, 15 July 2015 - 10:06 AM.

  • 0

This forum is old and archived, Whatever it is i said up above may no longer reflect my opinion.

GMWolf
GMIterator
RefactorTool
OptimizedDecals

#79 Yal

Yal

    Even though the GMC may be gone, our love will prevail eternally

  • Global Moderators
  • 11774 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 10:09 AM

That moment when you realize that no, yal did not just illegally bump a post :P

 

I'm Obviously not Tsuka, it's even in my member title :P


  • 0

- The above is my personal opinion and in no way representative of Yoyogames or the GMC, except when explicitly stated -

 

Open this spoiler for my games:

Spoiler

Some useful game engines, music and other resources at affordable prices:

My collection of game resources at itch.io

 

New user? Can't draw but want to look unique? You can request a new avatar in this thread!


#80 fel666

fel666

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1883 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 10:20 AM

That moment when you realize that no, yal did not just illegally bump a post :P
 

I'm Obviously not Tsuka, it's even in my member title :P
Haha ofc not! The tsuka - yal relationship is a staple of GMC culture!
But on mobile, with tired eyes, scanning through as many posts as possible, I did almost comment on the incredible feat that would be an illegal bump- that is untill I read the names :)

Edited by fel666, 15 July 2015 - 10:22 AM.

  • 0

This forum is old and archived, Whatever it is i said up above may no longer reflect my opinion.

GMWolf
GMIterator
RefactorTool
OptimizedDecals

#81 Yal

Yal

    Even though the GMC may be gone, our love will prevail eternally

  • Global Moderators
  • 11774 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 10:28 AM

I did almost comment on the incredible feat that would be an illegal bump- that is untill I read the names :)

 

I do have a tradition of making illegal bumps in the Jam Discussion topic, though... stay tuned! :D


  • 1

- The above is my personal opinion and in no way representative of Yoyogames or the GMC, except when explicitly stated -

 

Open this spoiler for my games:

Spoiler

Some useful game engines, music and other resources at affordable prices:

My collection of game resources at itch.io

 

New user? Can't draw but want to look unique? You can request a new avatar in this thread!


#82 mr magnus

mr magnus

    Viking King

  • GMC Member
  • 3739 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 03:09 PM

I am not as sad as I thought I would be, mostly because I do not use GM 8.1 anymore to any extent. but it will always have a special place on my taskbar.

*saluts
  • 2

#83 Yal

Yal

    Even though the GMC may be gone, our love will prevail eternally

  • Global Moderators
  • 11774 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 05:15 PM

I stuck around with GM6 for ages because it felt "easier" than GM8 for some reason. But in the end, I realized that the new room editor and sprite editor simply gave too much power to ignore.


  • 1

- The above is my personal opinion and in no way representative of Yoyogames or the GMC, except when explicitly stated -

 

Open this spoiler for my games:

Spoiler

Some useful game engines, music and other resources at affordable prices:

My collection of game resources at itch.io

 

New user? Can't draw but want to look unique? You can request a new avatar in this thread!


#84 fel666

fel666

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1883 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 05:56 PM

And yet we still have many, many complaints about the room editor.

Gn8.1 is also still on my taskbar: opening old GM examples is so much easier with it :P
(I also use it to test the speed of some algorithms; Like a craptop emulator)
  • 0

This forum is old and archived, Whatever it is i said up above may no longer reflect my opinion.

GMWolf
GMIterator
RefactorTool
OptimizedDecals

#85 Lukan Spellweaver

Lukan Spellweaver

    Gay Wizard Freak & mcmonkey's plaything

  • GMC Member
  • 3704 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 07:04 PM

I still have 8.1 on my taskbar too.
I haven't opened it in ages though.
  • 0

DeEuDARh.pngi1SR21Q.png

Find me on Itch.io | GameJolt | YouTube | Twitter | Facebook | Website | Ask.FM

 GMC Google Hangout | I liek monkehs

The GMC, here lies she. Kicked to the curb, with nary a word. She shall live on, though. Remain strong, bros.

Also: MIKE DAILLY TOLD ME TO UPDATE MY SIGNATURE


#86 nacho_chicken

nacho_chicken

    Metal Slime

  • GMC Member
  • 357 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 July 2015 - 09:30 PM

I still use GM8.1 when I need to test stuff fast or write non-game programs - which happens to be a lot.

It's just not worth dealing with sandboxing and auto-saving projects at runtime when I need quick iteration.


  • 3

YouTube: nacho1zero1

Twitter: @nacho_chicken

QlIK4q9.png


#87 Lindion45

Lindion45

    Scared of the Ducks

  • GMC Member
  • 1554 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 24 November 2015 - 05:49 PM

Interestingly, this was announced post #255, which is the final value of an unsigned 8 bit integer, #256 has to use 16 bits!  ^_^https://yoyogames.com/news/255


Edited by Lindion45, 24 November 2015 - 05:50 PM.

  • 0

UzQSAz6.pngXhTycnt.png


#88 orange451

orange451

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1411 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 25 November 2015 - 03:07 PM

Is it weird that I still use Gm5?

I have mountains of .gmd's on my harddrive ;D


Edited by orange451, 25 November 2015 - 03:08 PM.

  • 1

bC14QqN.pngNrTFeil.png


#89 Alvare

Alvare

    Not an administrator

  • GMC Member
  • 1812 posts
  • Version:None

Posted 25 November 2015 - 03:57 PM

Is it weird that I still use Gm5?

I have mountains of .gmd's on my harddrive ;D

That's a shame. Gm5's performance on newer hardware tends to make everything run slowmo. (The generated .exe file)


Edited by Alvare, 25 November 2015 - 03:58 PM.

  • 0

#90 Luigi003

Luigi003

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 55 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 26 November 2015 - 10:32 PM

Can anyone tell me how I can export a Studio project to GM 8.1? I don't want bullcrap telling me to use Studio...Studio is SO LAGGy on my computer. Just face the facts that studio is laggy and I cant even open a code block without it mysteriously dragging the code block into other objects!!! Its such a pain, I find myself constantly rearranging codeblocks rather than doing any code! Then the goddang screen flickers for 10 secons before I can ever do anythig!!! GM 8 was no like this, stop making excuses for it and blaimig Google Chrome (Ridiculous that a program would lag because of an unrelated process anyway!) STudio runs just fine on other computers while Google Chrome is running. Just eat the facts, Studio is simply laggy on some computers!!! 

 

How do I export resources I see no option in the menu.

 

Dude change PC

I have an 1GB RAM with Intel Atom and Integrated Intel Graphics. GMS works pretty well under wine(like a compatibility layer, which lags a bit).

 

I meant, if you have something worst than an Intel Atom your PC should be in a museum

 

Regards~


  • 1

#91 Cpaz

Cpaz

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 118 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 02:36 AM

Honestly, before studio I leeched off the free versions of Gm. I immediately dropped 8.1 only because of the resouce limitations and watermark.
For the record, I am now a proud owner of GMS professional, and an android module. (thanks humble bundle!!)
  • 0

Check out my projects:
In "Progress":
ARANA (Top-down, hack 'n slash, rpg-thing)
Fast Action Heroine (Side scrolling, action, platformer)


#92 BlueSteelAU

BlueSteelAU

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 20 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 07:17 AM

the first version of Game maker i had was 2.something then upgraded to 3 , 4 , 5, went away , then found out it was up to 8. then studio, I then decided to go the whole hog. bought the whole GM Studio with all the bells and whistles. I also bought GM 8.x at the same time because at that time GMStudio wasn't as full on as it is now, i was told that gm8 was still better at that time, since that purchase i've used studio , never really used gm8

 

I still have 2 old projects from back in GM3 that i can't do anything with now :( i can't even load them in and edit/update them :(


  • 1

#93 Lukan Spellweaver

Lukan Spellweaver

    Gay Wizard Freak & mcmonkey's plaything

  • GMC Member
  • 3704 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 07:46 AM

If you have projects that old, you can always copy/paste/correct code into studio.
You'd probably have to convert sprites from gif/bmp to png, and make that horrid green a transparency, very easy in gimp or paint.net.

It'll take time, but it's not all too complex.

This is assuming you still have GM 3 though. One of the competitions we had a while back had a link to some old versions, check for an old GM competition or something of a similar name.
Just keep in mind that older GM versions aren't maintained, so any issues that arise aren't gonna be dealt with by the YoYo guys.

Edited by Lukan Spellweaver, 30 November 2015 - 07:47 AM.

  • 1

DeEuDARh.pngi1SR21Q.png

Find me on Itch.io | GameJolt | YouTube | Twitter | Facebook | Website | Ask.FM

 GMC Google Hangout | I liek monkehs

The GMC, here lies she. Kicked to the curb, with nary a word. She shall live on, though. Remain strong, bros.

Also: MIKE DAILLY TOLD ME TO UPDATE MY SIGNATURE


#94 chance

chance

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 8762 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 01:29 PM

I still have 2 old projects from back in GM3 that i can't do anything with now :( i can't even load them in and edit/update them :(

 

After all this time, you're probably a much better programmer and creator than you were then.  So you're better off re-creating those games from scratch, with your current skills.   :thumbsup:


  • 3

#95 Mercerenies

Mercerenies

    Koopa King

  • GMC Member
  • 1945 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 03:42 PM

the first version of Game maker i had was 2.something then upgraded to 3 , 4 , 5, went away , then found out it was up to 8. then studio, I then decided to go the whole hog. bought the whole GM Studio with all the bells and whistles. I also bought GM 8.x at the same time because at that time GMStudio wasn't as full on as it is now, i was told that gm8 was still better at that time, since that purchase i've used studio , never really used gm8
 
I still have 2 old projects from back in GM3 that i can't do anything with now :( i can't even load them in and edit/update them :(

I believe YYG will still hand out GM8 if you contact the helpdesk with proof that you purchased it. You could use GM8 to convert to a newer file format then import that into Studio. It would still require some modification but it would be better than starting over.
  • 1
iPqfGiP.png

#96 Cpaz

Cpaz

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 118 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 30 November 2015 - 04:38 PM

If you have projects that old, you can always copy/paste/correct code into studio.
You'd probably have to convert sprites from gif/bmp to png, and make that horrid green a transparency, very easy in gimp or paint.net.

It'll take time, but it's not all too complex.

This is assuming you still have GM 3 though. One of the competitions we had a while back had a link to some old versions, check for an old GM competition or something of a similar name.
Just keep in mind that older GM versions aren't maintained, so any issues that arise aren't gonna be dealt with by the YoYo guys.

(Or graphicsgale, it's much faster than paint.net)


  • 1

Check out my projects:
In "Progress":
ARANA (Top-down, hack 'n slash, rpg-thing)
Fast Action Heroine (Side scrolling, action, platformer)


#97 SamimNoorzaiTGC

SamimNoorzaiTGC

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 98 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 18 December 2015 - 07:06 AM

I just bought Game Maker Studio Standard version recently! it' s fantastic!! keep up the updates.


  • 0

#98 Karurosu

Karurosu

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 382 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 18 December 2015 - 02:02 PM

I just bought Game Maker Studio Standard version recently! it' s fantastic!! keep up the updates.

 

...did you just said,  you BOUGHT Game Maker Studio Standar version?????


Edited by Karurosu, 18 December 2015 - 02:03 PM.

  • 0

If you´re reading this, it´s because I´m already dead. So if you want to communicate with my afterlife me,  send an email to: carlosmlg109@gmail.com -Available for hire, programmer and pixel artist-


#99 fel666

fel666

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1883 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 18 December 2015 - 02:47 PM

I just bought Game Maker Studio Standard version recently! it' s fantastic!! keep up the updates.

Isn't standard free these days?
  • 0

This forum is old and archived, Whatever it is i said up above may no longer reflect my opinion.

GMWolf
GMIterator
RefactorTool
OptimizedDecals

#100 Ninety

Ninety

    I just want to see if the mods will waive the character limit.

  • GMC Member
  • 846 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 18 December 2015 - 09:06 PM

He just really wants to support YoYo okay guys
  • 4

ka0eZdt.png
twitter | soundcloud | gmcomicified | ask.fm | homestead | itch.io | TIGsource

 

goodnight, sweet prince