PeterBFunnell

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 14 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 21 November 2012 - 06:53 PM

SAPIENCE: A SCIENCE-FICTION FPS/RPG HYBRID

Greetings, fellow GM developers!

I present to you the demonstration version of a creation on which I have been working since mid-January, 2012. "Sapience" is a retro-style FPS with some RPG elements such as a level/experience/skill point system, an inventory and a storyline (which is still a work in progress, of course). The player must face some particularly strong enemies whilst worrying about the amount of oxygen left in his/her HAZMAT suit. This creates a very fast-paced atmosphere which makes even the most hardened FPS players panic a tad. The game currently has three graphical settings. By default, the graphics are set to Medium. On High, there is a bokeh-style lighting effect which is currently quite inefficient, so it may cause lag on some computers. In any case, I do hope you enjoy my game. Suggestions would be greatly appreciated, however minor or major.

Note: Unfortunately, this particular demo version doesn't include a tutorial, so here's a hint: In the room where you pick up the pistol, you are able to interact with the blue, green and red computer consoles (located on the wall) with the <E> key.

For those of you who possess a Steam account, the game is currently on the Greenlight system, so I would encourage you to vote for it if you enjoy it. Here is the link: Greenlight Page

Controls:

Camera Control: Mouse
Movement: <W>, <A>, <S>, <D>
Interact with environment: <E>

Open/Close Inventory: Right Mouse Button, <I>
Scroll Through Inventory: Mouse Wheel
Use Inventory Item: <Q>

Fire Weapon: Left Mouse Button
Select Weapon: Mouse Wheel, <1>, <2>, <3>, <4>, <5>, <6>, <7>, <8>, <9>

Pause Game: <ESC>
Navigate Through Menu: Left Key, Right Key, <A>, <D>
Activate Menu Selection: <E>, Space Key

Facebook Page:

Sapience - Game Development Page

Screenshots:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image