Game Maker Screen Tearing

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 bizwize@hotmail.com

bizwize@hotmail.com

GMC Member

• 14 posts

Posted 30 September 2011 - 06:34 PM

OK, so I have been using Game Maker for a couple-three years now and although it has some limitations I do like the product.

The only problem that REALLY bothers me is the amount of screen tearing that the engine does. Now I have tried just about EVERY suggestion to reduce the screen tearing but it won't go away.

Here are just some of the tricks that I have tried:

Reduce the resolution.
Increase the resolution.
Do full screen.
Don't do full screen.
Use Syncronization.
Don't use Syncronization.
Use 60hz, 70hz, 80hz and so on.
Reduce the number of instances.
Reduce the size of background images.
16bit color - 24bit color.
Don't scroll the background.
Use views.
Don't use views.
Reduce the amount of calculations in the step and draw functions of every instance in the room.
Interpolate pixels turned on/off.
Use a different monitor. - I have tried 7 different monitors now, with 5 different video cards, and 5 different computers.
Upgrade Game Maker to the latest version.
Upgrade my computer and ram.

All these tricks did was to change the postioning of the tearing.
There are more tricks that I have tried that I can't remember as of this writing.

Now here is the thing, there are only 5 objects in my room now, all with minimal code running, and only one view active in the room, and still it tears.

Some forum users suggest that I use my own high resolution timer functions to control the refresh myself...! WHAT?? My answer to this is that if I wanted to handle the screen buffer page flips myself, I would blow the dust off my C++ compiler and do all the low the level coding myself. But that's why I bought Game Maker, so I would not have to do that low level of coding.!