Jump to content


Photo
- - - - -

Easy Text Box Example


  • Please log in to reply
130 replies to this topic

#1 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 15 September 2011 - 11:22 PM

  • Title: Text box example
  • Description: A very easy way to make your own dialog box
  • GM Version: :GM81:, GM:S
  • Registered: Yes, but a limited lite version exists
  • File Type: .gm81 | .zip (.gmx inside)
  • File Size: 19 Kb, 3.42 Mb for Studio Version
  • File Link: GM8.1 | Studio | Studio with icon --- 8.1 Lite | Original 8.1 (All on MediaFire)
  • Required Extensions: None
  • Required DLLs: None
Summary

This is a very simple way to make a dialog/text box for a game. Commented for your convenience.

It supports:
  • Scrolling text (appearing a few letters at a time).
  • Multiple messages at once
  • Easily added strings from anywhere
  • Scaled text
  • Skipping to the end of string (rather than waiting the whole time)
  • Following views
  • Sounds for appearing letters
  • Sounds when the message is closed/next message is loaded
  • Freezing everything when there is text visible
  • Separate box for speaker's name *
  • Colourable text *
  • Scripts for easier use *
* Not in Lite or Original 8.1 version
 
Using a queue, the strings are stored and read back in the same order as before. While the text is appearing, the player can skip to the end of the text, and can then remove the message from the queue to display the next one. When the queue is empty, the object becomes invisible, and stops obstructing the vision. It does NOT require placing multiple objects and the strings can be added to the queue at anytime, anywhere!

The Lite version does the same thing, but with an array that holds the messages, and requires more work for longer sequences of messages.
 
The Studio with icon version also includes support for having an icon of the character speaking in the message box, the same way that you would see in RuneScape.
 
To add automatic string wrapping, see here.
For a workaround for sprite_create_from_screen being removed, see here.
To have the text centered see this post.

Edited by thegame, 21 August 2014 - 02:22 AM.

  • 4

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#2 icymx

icymx

    Patrick Brett

  • GMC Member
  • 800 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 13 October 2011 - 06:41 AM

Nice!
  • 0
Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature,
nor do the children of men as a whole experience it.
Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure.
Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.
To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits
in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.

- Helen Keller

#3 Devinit_gD

Devinit_gD

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 232 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 04:42 AM

This may help my game! I'll edit this post when I try it!
  • 0
Take a look at my blog... :)
Devinit_gD's Blog!

My Facebook page... :)
Devinit_gD's Facebook


Need some help? Here's some tips!

#4 loverock125

loverock125

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1830 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 19 October 2011 - 12:23 PM

Could you please fix the link :)
  • 0

#5 Devinit_gD

Devinit_gD

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 232 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 01:11 PM

Could you please fix the link :)


The Lite Version link works! :)
  • 0
Take a look at my blog... :)
Devinit_gD's Blog!

My Facebook page... :)
Devinit_gD's Facebook


Need some help? Here's some tips!

#6 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 19 October 2011 - 07:56 PM

Huh... if you stare at the error screen for a while it works... but I fixed it anyway!
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#7 icymx

icymx

    Patrick Brett

  • GMC Member
  • 800 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 27 October 2011 - 09:42 PM

Nice work!
  • 0
Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature,
nor do the children of men as a whole experience it.
Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure.
Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.
To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits
in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.

- Helen Keller

#8 The_Cone_man

The_Cone_man

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 17 posts

Posted 08 November 2011 - 01:53 AM

for some unknown reason i cant get my first speech thing to show. it just skips to the next room. i have even copied the exact coding ver beta and this still happens...no clue as to why, i also cant figure out how to set more variables for an object to speak but just a different dialogue than what was previously said in the room before. if anyone could help i would greatly appreciate it.
edit: spelling mistake

Edited by The_Cone_man, 08 November 2011 - 01:54 AM.

  • 0
The_Cone_man

#9 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 17 November 2011 - 12:07 PM

Make it work with views because it is useless other wise as a lot of games with this have views...

Did it! Enjoy!
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#10 _240773

_240773

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 24 November 2011 - 04:47 AM

This is great :) Nice work. But how do you pause everything else like the message command does? Anyone know the code? I dont want monsters running around my characters while they are talking to one another, I just want the focus to be on the dialog.

Edited by _240773, 26 November 2011 - 04:20 AM.

  • 0

#11 uebo7

uebo7

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 19 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 21 December 2011 - 01:36 AM

How do you set the size of the text? On your example game, it's very small, but on my game it appears very large. Is it relative to the room size or something?
  • 0

rustsig2.png
Check out our game here! http://gmc.yoyogames...howtopic=578876

 


#12 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 December 2011 - 12:26 PM

Set your font to a different size in the font editor, or scale the text in some way. It's not relative to the room size, but to the zoomed-in-ness from your view
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#13 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 02 January 2012 - 11:29 PM

Mind if I comment? I'm saving this to my content thing. :D
  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#14 DudeGuy676

DudeGuy676

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 47 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 06 January 2012 - 04:26 AM

Could I use this in my game MageStones? I'll put you in the creditz
http://sandbox.yoyog...magestones-v1-2

Edited by DudeGuy676, 06 January 2012 - 04:27 AM.

  • 0

#15 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 06 January 2012 - 02:25 PM

Go ahead! That's what I made it for... :)
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#16 Devinit_gD

Devinit_gD

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 232 posts

Posted 06 January 2012 - 07:55 PM

I like how I got this post popular again. I feel good. C:
  • 0
Take a look at my blog... :)
Devinit_gD's Blog!

My Facebook page... :)
Devinit_gD's Facebook


Need some help? Here's some tips!

#17 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 06 January 2012 - 08:23 PM

Lol, actually. I encountered a problem.

/* NOTE:
Make sure the box is NOT visible and IS persistent
Put ONE text box in the first room 
*/

image_speed=0.05; //Set the image to not flash too fast
//Create a queue to contain all the texts
globalvar text;
text=ds_queue_create();
drawstr="";

//Set the string position to make the text scroll nicely
pos=0;

On the Example- Textbox gmk8 file this globalvar text; does not come up as a error. But when I try and use it.
It shows up as a error.

Posted Image

I copied the code and all the objects and sprites. Anybody got a clue?
  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#18 Sirosky

Sirosky

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1578 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:12 AM

It looks nice, though the text box lags behind with views but I'm sure this problem will be easily alleviated with a bit of code.
  • 0

gcjRa8D.png


#19 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 07 January 2012 - 03:28 AM

Anybody got a answer to my question. :D
  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#20 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 07 January 2012 - 01:35 PM

Do you have another variable in your game called 'text'? That may cause the problem...
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#21 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 07 January 2012 - 10:45 PM

No, I dont. Im sure of it.
  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#22 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 08 January 2012 - 12:51 AM

OH! You must have a resources named text, I am sure of this because the colour is wrong... it should be blue not the light brown
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#23 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 08 January 2012 - 08:56 PM

Ah, that's it. :D I do have resource named text, I'll change that right now. :D


==edit==
I did have a resource named text but that wasn't the problem. I had a object names text. So if anyone else comes across this problem, tell them to change the name of there text object. :D

Edited by Bcm27, 09 January 2012 - 09:35 PM.

  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#24 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 09 January 2012 - 11:23 PM

Ok, now heres a question for you. How do you change the font size? its alittle to big for my current game window.
  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#25 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 10 January 2012 - 12:13 AM

To rescale the text, change the two parts that are # from objTextbox's Draw event
if(drawstr!="") {
    //Draw the text, scrolling across the box
    draw_set_font(-1);
    draw_set_color(c_black);
    draw_self();
    cstr=string_copy(drawstr,1,pos);
    draw_text_ext_transformed(x+16,y+16,cstr,-1,-1,#,#,0); // <-- Change # to rescale text
    pos+=1.5;
}
1 is the current value, which is the original size. 2 would be double the size, and 0.5 would be half.

Edited by thegame, 10 January 2012 - 12:13 AM.

  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#26 Bcm27

Bcm27

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 333 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 10 January 2012 - 01:04 AM

Alright, thanks.

==edit==
Im still new to gm, so I'm still using drag and drop, although I hope to move onto gml soon enough. :D


===edit===
wait, I am very stupid I think I see what I did wrong. :D

===edit===
Ok, I saw what I did wrong, :D I only glanced at the code. :D Thanks for the help.

Edited by Bcm27, 10 January 2012 - 01:08 AM.

  • 0
- Bcm27 -
- Moderator of CrySet Games -
- Amateur Game Designer -Space Fighter-

#27 Adam Wolf

Adam Wolf

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 January 2012 - 05:47 PM

Hey, I really like this example and want to adapt it to my small game I'm working on but I'm having difficulty adding sound just while the text is displaying. I tried playing sound while 'drawstr' isn't empty but it plays the entire time the textbox is active.

Has anybody successfully added sound to this yet?

Thanks in advance!
  • 0

#28 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 January 2012 - 06:01 PM

I'll see what I can do - its a good idea for sure
By sound, you mean like... the beepbeepbeep for each letter that shows up right?
And a click or something when the next message comes up?

Edit: DONE! How is it?

Edited by thegame, 22 January 2012 - 06:22 PM.

  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#29 Adam Wolf

Adam Wolf

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts

Posted 22 January 2012 - 07:53 PM

I'll see what I can do - its a good idea for sure
By sound, you mean like... the beepbeepbeep for each letter that shows up right?
And a click or something when the next message comes up?

Edit: DONE! How is it?


you're awesome. checking it out now.

edit: confirmed. you are awesome. works perfect.

i was just trying if(drawstr!=""). i don't really understand what/how you're checking cstr in that if statement though.

Edited by Adam Wolf, 22 January 2012 - 08:04 PM.

  • 0

#30 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 January 2012 - 08:07 PM

I am checking to see if the string that is written is the same as the string that is to be drawn... I don't know if it had to be that complicated but that's what it does...
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#31 icymx

icymx

    Patrick Brett

  • GMC Member
  • 800 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 12 February 2012 - 04:24 AM

Forgive me for my useless posts earlier in this topic...

This I very useful and I find myself coming back to this example often. This question gets asked a lot in the Novice forum, and you've answered it spot on.

I hope that sooner or later, this will become Staff Choice :thumbsup:
  • 0
Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature,
nor do the children of men as a whole experience it.
Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure.
Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.
To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits
in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.

- Helen Keller

#32 Kyymehra

Kyymehra

    GMC Member

  • Validating
  • 56 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 17 June 2012 - 03:44 PM

Awesome example, gj.

#33 ValmanwayGames

ValmanwayGames

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 50 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 18 June 2012 - 01:48 AM

so far this is great!

However, once the text is drawn it is immediately erased, anyone else get this problem?

I am using game maker studio.


Just need this fixed and im gold!
  • 0

signature.png


#34 sQuiFGames

sQuiFGames

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 190 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:47 AM

I will use this for my project, thank you so much for explaining it somewhat easily for us noobs.

Must admit though it took me a good 20 minutes to realise how to add more than your 4 lines.
  • 0

#35 FranzShester

FranzShester

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 6 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 07 August 2012 - 12:01 AM

wow thank you! thats what i was looking for!
  • 0

#36 Arusiasotto

Arusiasotto

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 760 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 08 August 2012 - 01:43 AM

I have the same issue as Valmanway now that I have moved on to GMS. I wonder if they have changed how queued text is handled...
  • 0

 

"It should be noted that no ethically-trained software engineer would ever consent to write a DestroyBaghdad procedure. Basic professional ethics would instead require him to write a DestroyCity procedure, to which Baghdad could be given as a parameter." - Nathaniel Borenstein

 

 

 


#37 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 08 August 2012 - 02:42 PM

@Arusiasotto: ValmanwayGames found a solution to that, and I added it on to the main post
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#38 Arusiasotto

Arusiasotto

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 760 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 08 August 2012 - 04:47 PM

Oh, excellent!
  • 0

 

"It should be noted that no ethically-trained software engineer would ever consent to write a DestroyBaghdad procedure. Basic professional ethics would instead require him to write a DestroyCity procedure, to which Baghdad could be given as a parameter." - Nathaniel Borenstein

 

 

 


#39 urdead

urdead

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 8 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:37 PM

This is just an awesome example. Thank you for sharing!
  • 0
Greg Breault
www.gregbreault.com

#40 Ventus

Ventus

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 21 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 03 September 2012 - 05:56 PM

i reallly need this but unfortunetly cant seen to download it, any other way to get this file?
  • 0
working on mechanics alone for my game and already more than 520 lines of code :P
this is insane
still really need an animator, anyone wanna join The Hidden Games as an animator with 10 % game sales?

#41 blackbeard

blackbeard

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 64 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 03 October 2012 - 11:11 AM

Hey, I'd like to try this out for GM:studio, but the link appears to be uncooperative.... do you have another mirror or such? Thanks!
  • 0

#42 logicbomb82

logicbomb82

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 3 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 29 January 2013 - 08:03 PM

Hey, I'd like to try this out for GM:studio, but the link appears to be uncooperative.... do you have another mirror or such? Thanks!

I second the need for it for GM studio.
  • 0

#43 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 29 January 2013 - 08:06 PM

Sure thing. I'll do that. Better yet, I'll put an upgraded version instead. All the same things, and more.

Edit: The Studio Version is complete. Enjoy :D

Edited by thegame, 29 January 2013 - 10:10 PM.

  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#44 smit293

smit293

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 27 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 01 February 2013 - 01:02 AM

Sure thing. I'll do that. Better yet, I'll put an upgraded version instead. All the same things, and more.

Edit: The Studio Version is complete. Enjoy :D



Ok checked this out and it looks great thanks for the upload! Question I have is any idea how hard it would be to implement this onto a Dialog box that pops up and pauses the game waiting for input? With like images/animations on the box? Is that possible with this? I read there were functions before that made it easier in other GM versions but has since been made "obsolete" in GM:Studio because those features were windows only. But the help file doesn't reference anything that replaced it.
  • 0

#45 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 01 February 2013 - 02:04 AM

Yeah, there is nothing to replace the input functions.

In my game I did manage to get an input system working, though it was a lot of code that would be hard to put in this example.
Basically I drew another smaller rectangle onto the big one, and drew keyboard_string in it. Then when the user pressed <Enter> I put keyboard_string into a global variable and the controller did whatever was necessary with it. I got a button system working as well, kinda like show_question_ext() was. Same idea, but with buttons instead of keyboard_string. Remember to clear keyboard_string before starting input though.

Using the same idea as for the colours, I'm sure you could work up something for drawing images in it as well. Maybe write something like "This is my dog: |5" and then after the pipe ( | ), take all numbers until a space or newline and then draw sprite with that index. Running the sprites animation might be harder, but certainly possible.

I hope you manage to get it working. Good luck!
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#46 edneicabofrio

edneicabofrio

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 36 posts
  • Version:GM:HTML5

Posted 12 February 2013 - 05:34 PM

I tested your tutorial for GM: S, and am very grateful for your work.
I wonder, using your example, if you have any way of storing all dialogs into a single txt file?
I ask this because I want to create a multilanguage RPG. I think putting much all dialogs into a single file could facilitate the translation work.
I made a topic on the subject:

http://gmc.yoyogames...howtopic=570921

Could you give me any suggestions for how best to do this in Studio GM?

Thank you. :thumbsup:
  • 0

#47 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:56 PM

I think you could do this with a .ini.
Make each heading a character's name. In their create event, or whatever, search the .ini and pull out all the strings under their name, storing it in their array of messages.
  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#48 Divined

Divined

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:49 PM

First of all, amazing work. I am still learning to use GM:S and was really impressed by your example.

I managed to get it working in my game-wannabe and would like to ask you if there is any way to get rid of that split second screen blip that happens every time that all the messages are removed from the queue? That should be right around the time the instances are reactivated and the sprite with the picture of the screen is deleted.
It's barely noticeable in your example due to relatively small number of objects present and quite simple background, but when using it lets say inside a room it gets a bit annoying.

Thanks,

Divined
  • 0

#49 thegame

thegame

    OinkIguana

  • GMC Member
  • 1502 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 19 February 2013 - 12:49 AM

Yes I have seen that blip in my games, but haven't yet found a way to fix it. I'll work on that as soon as I get Steam fixed and can access GM:S again.

Edit: Found the problem, got the solution, and it's uploading now. Check the Controller's End Step.

Edited by thegame, 19 February 2013 - 01:20 AM.

  • 0

Examples: Inventory and Shop Example ||| Dialog System with messages, questions, input and more ||| Old dialog box example (May not work in new versions of GM:Studio)
Jam Games: 11: Abby and Elliot - 21st place ||| 12: Forks - 16th place ||| 13: White - 19th place
Completed games: White


#50 Divined

Divined

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 2 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 19 February 2013 - 09:21 AM

Amazing, works like a charm. Thanks! :)
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users