• GMC Member
  • 534 posts

Posted 29 November 2010 - 11:57 PM

Super Smash Land

Website
YoYoGames
Youtube

Introduction:
I am here to introduce a fan-project that I have been working on for a few months now. The project consists of me, Dan Fornace doing art and programming, and InversePhase covering Sound Effects and Music.

We are working on a relatively experiment recreation of the Super Smash Brothers series as if it were released for the Gameboy Original and was a part of the franchise. Of course, I will be taking away many of the restrictions since I am actually developing it for Windows Pc with Game Maker. However, we want the presentation to be authentic as possible. I have been working on 4 color pixel art while InversePhase is working with authentic chiptune skills to create sounds that match the game.

Trailer:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wGSDf5Bc2PE

Gameplay:

While I am making a fan game, I hope to add many of my own design elements and choices to the game. Since this is for gameboy, I will have a static screen rather than the zooming and moving that is capable in 3d. I will also be using simple stage designs rather then the monstrosities that populated two-thirds of Brawl.

I am also simplifying the combat for the Gameboy. The controls consist of the D-Pad. A to Jump and B to attack. There are no shields, no grabs, no dodges, no smash attacks. Therefore to balance characters and attacks, I am relying heavily on starting and ending lag as well as knockback. Damage and Death percentages will be similar to the series but I do not plan a direct correlation on attacks.

Since there is only one attack button that means there are only 9 attacks. Up down forward and neutral for the ground and the same plus backwards for the air. That means that characters will not take direct translations to their movesets as I am picking the most unique moves in my mind to form the characters.