Objects move from mouse cursor?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 mollycarroll

mollycarroll

GMC Member

• 18 posts

Posted 19 July 2010 - 02:21 PM

Hello! I'm a newbie to Game Maker (I've only completed the tutorial so far. ^^;) and I'm in a spot of bother. I'm sure you guys can give me the answer I'm looking for!

I'm making a game that involves dots moving away from the mouse cursor, but I can't get it to work properly. I've gotten as far as making an object that follows the mouse. I tried setting a collision event with the cursor object, with the action 'step avoid.' (speed 3) But instead of the dots bouncing away from the cursor, they always strafe to the top right, no matter which angle you knock into them from. :blink:

How do I make the dots move away from the cursor relative to the side from which it is knocked against?

I hope I explained this clearly enough. ;P

Thanks in advance!

#2 Saruwatari

Saruwatari

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 228 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 19 July 2010 - 02:47 PM

Hello! I'm a newbie to Game Maker (I've only completed the tutorial so far. ^^;) and I'm in a spot of bother. I'm sure you guys can give me the answer I'm looking for!

I'm making a game that involves dots moving away from the mouse cursor, but I can't get it to work properly. I've gotten as far as making an object that follows the mouse. I tried setting a collision event with the cursor object, with the action 'step avoid.' (speed 3) But instead of the dots bouncing away from the cursor, they always strafe to the top right, no matter which angle you knock into them from. :blink:

How do I make the dots move away from the cursor relative to the side from which it is knocked against?

I hope I explained this clearly enough. ;P

Thanks in advance!

In D&D (drag'n'drop) it's in tab "Move" and called "Bounce". Use these settings: precisely, all objects. In GML (Game Maker Language) it's move_bounce_all(advanced);

Hope I helped