90 replies to this topic

#1 Ace

Ace

GMC Member

• GMC Member
  • 372 posts

Posted 15 January 2010 - 06:10 PM

• Title: Finite State Machines
  • Description: In this tutorial, I will teach you how to use Finite State Machines in Game Maker. This makes programming any complex game object lots easier for the programmer.
  • GM Version: GM 7/8 (others = script only)
  • File Type: gmk
  • File Size: 1 MB
  • File Link:
    Posted Image

Introduction to teh Finite State Machine (FSM):

What is a "Finite State Machine" you ask?

Well, it's just like it sounds. It is a 'machine' (or system) which allows something to 'exist' in a finite (singular) state.

You're probably wondering what use this is to you. The truth is, absolutely everything! In fact, most, if not ALL, of the games developed professionally by large studios use these. Why? Because they're easy, modular, and very efficient to use for professional game programmers and complete novices alike.

Game Designers come from all walks of life, and even those with programming experience tend not to know the intricacies of the current hardware and/or languages they're using for their project, so low-level design is typically left to the actual game programmers, not the designer. So how do you translate "I want this guy to walk 3 pixels over and jump when he gets close to a wall and stand there in a cool pose if he makes it or look sad when he lands" to a hard-nosed game programmer whose eyes are veiled with the intricacies of hardware programming?

Finite State Machines.

That is, you tell the game programmer exactly what must happen while in each state of an overall (typically arbitrary) action and explain how exactly each of these states must relate to one another. In essence, without one, pseudo-code like this just falls on deaf ears.