Trying To Make A Card Game...

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Jon Echidna

Jon Echidna

GMC Member

• 2 posts

Posted 26 January 2008 - 10:52 PM

Hello to everyone here. I'm a newly registered user with GameMaker 7Pro. I've had some previous experience with BlitzBASIC, so I'm hoping that will be useful here.

I've had this idea for a card game for a while now and I'd like to turn it into a reality. I did some research and I'm using elements from both Yu-gi-oh! and Magic the Gathering.

Heres the basic rundown:

Players summon entities and use scrolls to defeat their opponent by either making them run out of cards or reducing thier Hit Points (HP) from 6000 to 0.

You have a Encounter Field where there are 2 rows for six zones. The first zone in the first row is your Cemetery. The zone below it is your Deck. The top row is where you summon your entities and the bottom is where you play your scrolls.

Monsters can be played in Atk mode (Vertical) or Def mode (Horizontal). There are no face-down position. All cards are played face-up.

There are two card types:

Entities (Equivalent to Monsters/Creatures)

There are several entity types, such as Mages, Reptilian, and Undead.

Scrolls (Equivalent to Magics/Spells)

There are three Scroll types: Basic, Permanent, and Swift (Equivalent to Quick-play/Instant)

Unfortunately as much searching as I do I can't seem to find a decent tutorial that relates to creating card games. Everything seems to deal with RPGs/Shooters/Action games.

Heres what I've got so far:

Card Sprite (Front/Back/Sideways) (GIF)
Title Screen (GIF) (800x600)
Duel Field (GIF) (800x600)
Deck Sprite (GIF)
Small understanding of arrays (this was the only thing I found that even related to my game)

I want to know how to make my game similar to the YGO games for the DS or the PSP. The ones where you can see the cards you draw as well as placing them on the field/switching their battle positions. So heres my 'To do" list: