Jump to content


Photo

Game Maker On Linux


  • Please log in to reply
253 replies to this topic

#1 tails2399

tails2399

    Big Time Gamer

  • New Member
  • 109 posts

Posted 19 January 2008 - 05:59 PM

I recently started using linux and i want to know if game maker is supported on linux.
  • 0

#2 Zezuken

Zezuken

    AKA: Warriorccc0

  • GMC Member
  • 2799 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 19 January 2008 - 06:03 PM

Its not supported, although you can possibly use Wine to try and use it, but I'm not 100% sure how that would work out.
  • 0

#3 IsmAvatar

IsmAvatar

    Good Samaritan

  • GMC Member
  • 2411 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 19 January 2008 - 06:48 PM

It's not supported yet, although YYG's next version of GM (coding it in C, if I'm not mistaken) may open up the doors for this.

In the meantime, there is a third-party program called LateralGM which allows you to edit your games on Linux, Mac, Sun etc. but currently does not allow you to compile/run them. You can find it by clicking the penguin in my sig.

Disclaimer: LateralGM is not affiliated with or endorsed by YYG or Mark Overmars, and is strictly third party. Any questions, comments, etc regarding LGM should be posted on the LGM forums, and not the GMC.
  • 0

#4 Game_boy

Game_boy

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 265 posts

Posted 19 January 2008 - 07:10 PM

Game Maker 6 and 7 executable games are playable under Ubuntu 7.10 and Wine 0.9.49+

See my topic here.

Game Maker 6 runs under Wine with a few bugs, but you can make games with it.

Game Maker 7 doesn't run due to the DRM infection YoYo put on it.

Get Wine here (your distribution likely does not have a version that works).

Edited by Game_boy, 19 January 2008 - 07:12 PM.

  • 0

#5 Hach-Que

Hach-Que

    RoketGames Admin

  • New Member
  • 1490 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 02:36 AM

Most Linux distributions have WINE in their repositories (Some come with it installed by default). So instead of compiling from source (nasty stuff unless you know what your doing), under your administration center on linux, there should be a package manager. Simply run the package manager then search for and install wine.

This topic shows you how to get Game Maker 6 working under WINE
  • 0

#6 Game_boy

Game_boy

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 265 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 10:02 AM

^^
The above doesn't work on my ATI + Ubuntu 7.10 setup, but then again I don't require the DLL override.

Also, even if your distribution doesn't have Wine, the Wine site keeps up-to-date packages for many distributions.

Edited by Game_boy, 20 January 2008 - 10:03 AM.

  • 0

#7 Op-For

Op-For

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 6 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 03:28 PM

Game Maker 6 runs under Wine with a few bugs


o_O

Why not people just stick with system game maker was made for?
  • 0

#8 Qwertyman

Qwertyman

    C&D Games

  • New Member
  • 1178 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 03:45 PM

Game Maker 6 runs under Wine with a few bugs


o_O

Why not people just stick with system game maker was made for?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Because not everyone has a valid copy of Windows.
  • 0

#9 king_of_llamas

king_of_llamas

    KoL Games

  • New Member
  • 1079 posts

Posted 20 January 2008 - 04:42 PM

Wine stands for: Wine Is Not an Emulator

Edited by king_of_llamas, 20 January 2008 - 04:49 PM.

  • 0

#10 Loaf

Loaf

    Just loafing around

  • GMC Member
  • 1589 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 21 January 2008 - 07:40 AM

Its been said. GM for mac is being made, thus Linux probably isn't to far off. Yoyo Glogs indicate possible development for GM Linux.
  • 0

#11 J.S.Maker

J.S.Maker

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 16 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 05:44 PM

But... is it possible to run it under VirtualBox? Just for curiosity :P
  • 0

#12 TheMagicNumber

TheMagicNumber

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 5247 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 21 January 2009 - 05:50 PM

coding it in C, if I'm not mistaken

The runner is being remade in C++, but that will mean nothing if they still use DirectX. I hope it ends up using OpenGL, then I'd choose to learn 3D as it'd look better.

If you ever say C++ is faster then Delphi then I suggest you tell me why two fully compiled languages (excludes UI) are not the same speed. The only problem I know with Delphi is that it isn't cross platform without using 3rd party tools.
  • 0

#13 Atlantis_base

Atlantis_base

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 188 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 06:01 PM

But... is it possible to run it under VirtualBox? Just for curiosity :P

Yes and no. It is technically possible to run GM in VirtualBox. The problem with VirtualBox is that it has no (or, under certain circumstances very limited) 3D hardware acceleration. GM needs this acceleration, even for it's 2D parts. So games would run choppy at best.

You're definitely better off trying wine for the moment. It's not as compatible as one would wish for but currently it's your best bet.



Greetz, Atlantis
  • 0

#14 Revel

Revel

    ɹǝqɯǝɯ ɔɯƃ

  • GMC Member
  • 4926 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 21 January 2009 - 06:08 PM

Because not everyone has a valid copy of Windows.


So why are they here? I don't go to an iPhoto forum and complain that its not for windows, I stick with what is available.

Edited by Revel, 21 January 2009 - 06:08 PM.

  • 0

#15 Natso

Natso

    Nat S. Orion

  • New Member
  • 1055 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:44 PM

Because not everyone has a valid copy of Windows.


So why are they here? I don't go to an iPhoto forum and complain that its not for windows, I stick with what is available.

Because while you may not feel safe setting sail in rough waters, some of us would rather brave the unknown. Linux is an excellent OS, one that I'm migrating to myself. If one wishes to stop using Windows and start using Linux (I'm using Fedora, personally. Ubuntu is a little too friendly), the place to ask about program-specific things (such as GM) is at that program's site, not at Fedora HQ.

Oh, and my copy of Windows is "valid."

- Natso
  • 0

#16 SunnyKatt

SunnyKatt

    Code Drama

  • Sandbox Moderators
  • 704 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:47 PM

I love linux - I want an offical port from YYG that can make exe's for all the operating systems. That would be awesome, I'd pay extra.

EDIT:

I tried running GM on wine already - it worked, some errors with sound things, but I never was patient enough to actually test a finished game.

Edited by SunnyKatt, 21 January 2009 - 08:47 PM.

  • 0

#17 Natso

Natso

    Nat S. Orion

  • New Member
  • 1055 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 08:49 PM

I love linux - I want an offical port from YYG that can make exe's for all the operating systems. That would be awesome, I'd pay extra.

EDIT:

I tried running GM on wine already - it worked, some errors with sound things, but I never was patient enough to actually test a finished game.

oooooooof topic....

This isn't about making GM more compatable in future versions, it's about making existing GM versions run on Linux. Two entirely different topics, one of which is very misunderstood by many people. Let's stay on topic.

- Natso
  • 0

#18 ev149

ev149

    NinetySix Design

  • GMC Member
  • 1035 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:01 PM

I'd pay extra, too. This would also be helpful for online games using a Linux server, since Windows servers are much more expensive.
  • 0

#19 Natso

Natso

    Nat S. Orion

  • New Member
  • 1055 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:02 PM

I'd pay extra, too. This would also be helpful for online games using a Linux server, since Windows servers are much more expensive.

Anyone renting a server in general in order to run a GM-generated server application should be shot. End of story.

- Natso
  • 0

#20 Krisando

Krisando

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1351 posts

Posted 21 January 2009 - 09:22 PM

Wine does not work for crab sticks with GM, it does start yes.. but glitchy looking, tabs have no text.
Games do not run, constant errors =/

Also im paying for a windows VPS for a game server from
http://www.infinitie...ndows-index.php
$20us month for less spec. $40 for more cpu share etc also I got an email from them if the machine does not run what you want efficiently then you will be auto upgraded free of charge.

Be careful your provider may have a very low cpu share which may not be even enough to host your gave very well.
This has been the cheapest server I have seen yet with reasonable specs.

Edited by Krisando, 21 January 2009 - 09:27 PM.

  • 0

#21 jimmyjames

jimmyjames

    Pixel-Chasers.com

  • New Member
  • 305 posts

Posted 22 January 2009 - 03:55 AM

Gm5 is the most reliable in Wine from my experience. Since I mainly use Gm5 its great.

Side note to some who think Wine is not too good: I ran Portal in it. :( Of course for good frame rates you need higher specs than needed to run on windows.
  • 0

#22 toopz

toopz

    Spriter

  • New Member
  • 782 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 22 January 2009 - 04:03 AM

I love how there's an exactly one year gap (not counting hours at least) between posts 10 and 11. :(

The runner is being remade in C++, but that will mean nothing if they still use DirectX. I hope it ends up using OpenGL, then I'd choose to learn 3D as it'd look better.

If you ever say C++ is faster then Delphi then I suggest you tell me why two fully compiled languages (excludes UI) are not the same speed. The only problem I know with Delphi is that it isn't cross platform without using 3rd party tools.


Delphi and C++ are both fast languages. I haven't been reading the gm in c++ topic, so I don't know why they're changing the runner, but it shouldn't make a huge difference. I disagree with that OpenGl statement though. While I do love OpenGl for it's cross platform traits, it certainly would not cause gm games to look better. For who knows how many years people have tested OpenGl vs. Direct 3d and it's always the same: speed is a toss up and so is quality. They're each very good, and there's no clear winner. I might give an edge to Direct 3d at the moment because of Direct X 9 or 10, along with the OpenGl board's recently zany decisions, but they're both good.

Here's hoping gm does eventually get a linux port, because I would probably spend a lot less time on Windows...even though I love my Windows as much as my Linux.
  • 0

#23 Hach-Que

Hach-Que

    RoketGames Admin

  • New Member
  • 1490 posts

Posted 22 January 2009 - 04:53 AM

I love how there's an exactly one year gap (not counting hours at least) between posts 10 and 11. :(

The runner is being remade in C++, but that will mean nothing if they still use DirectX. I hope it ends up using OpenGL, then I'd choose to learn 3D as it'd look better.

If you ever say C++ is faster then Delphi then I suggest you tell me why two fully compiled languages (excludes UI) are not the same speed. The only problem I know with Delphi is that it isn't cross platform without using 3rd party tools.


Delphi and C++ are both fast languages. I haven't been reading the gm in c++ topic, so I don't know why they're changing the runner, but it shouldn't make a huge difference. I disagree with that OpenGl statement though. While I do love OpenGl for it's cross platform traits, it certainly would not cause gm games to look better. For who knows how many years people have tested OpenGl vs. Direct 3d and it's always the same: speed is a toss up and so is quality. They're each very good, and there's no clear winner. I might give an edge to Direct 3d at the moment because of Direct X 9 or 10, along with the OpenGl board's recently zany decisions, but they're both good.

Here's hoping gm does eventually get a linux port, because I would probably spend a lot less time on Windows...even though I love my Windows as much as my Linux.


Because you can't compile Delphi programs on other platforms. They need to convert it to C++ before they are able to compile the runner on Mac.
  • 0

#24 tuntis

tuntis

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1839 posts

Posted 22 January 2009 - 04:30 PM

I hope it ends up using OpenGL, then I'd choose to learn 3D as it'd look better.

Do you even have a clue on what you're talking about?
  • 0

#25 Shining_Saber

Shining_Saber

    Top Gundam

  • New Member
  • 610 posts

Posted 22 January 2009 - 10:43 PM

Anyone renting a server in general in order to run a GM-generated server application should be shot. End of story.

- Natso

Agreed, especially since server applications should just be doing math, and math is very easy to do in something like C++.


I hope it ends up using OpenGL, then I'd choose to learn 3D as it'd look better.


Do you even have a clue on what you're talking about?

I'd say no.

Edited by Shining_Saber, 22 January 2009 - 10:44 PM.

  • 0

#26 toopz

toopz

    Spriter

  • New Member
  • 782 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 06 February 2009 - 04:30 AM

I'm in the process of trying to get a tutorial approved (posted a few minutes ago), but I thought this would be relevant here too. I found a decent way to get Game Maker to work with Linux, albeit it needs to use Game Maker 6 registered with Wine 0.9.45 or above (tested on 1.1.14). Basically, it uses a separate sound dll (SuperSound) to address gm6's sound issues and uses surfaces to resize a fullscreen window to...fullscreen. Gm7 works in Wine now, but it can't be registered yet, so you're stuck in the lite version. That means you can't use dll's, and hence the gm6 registered requirement.

If you want to see it for yourself, download it here. There's a .gm6 and a .exe as well as a readme to get you started. The main limitations now are the gm6 registered requirement and an inability to use room transitions, due to the resize scripts.

Hope it's of use to somebody :(

Edited by toopz, 06 February 2009 - 05:23 AM.

  • 0

#27 SunnyKatt

SunnyKatt

    Code Drama

  • Sandbox Moderators
  • 704 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 07 February 2009 - 03:02 PM

Awesome job, man!

Now I just need to wait for 7 pro to get in linux, that's what I use. ^_^
  • 0

#28 score_under

score_under

    Least kawaii

  • GMC Member
  • 1321 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 08:56 PM

Of course for good frame rates you need higher specs than needed to run on windows.

Are you sure? WINE is a compatibility layer - the (recursive) acronym itself is "WINE Is Not an Emulator". It should not result in any slower speeds.
  • 0

#29 jakman4242

jakman4242

    Vertical Shmup Junkie

  • New Member
  • 3222 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 09:24 PM

Of course for good frame rates you need higher specs than needed to run on windows.

Are you sure? WINE is a compatibility layer - the (recursive) acronym itself is "WINE Is Not an Emulator". It should not result in any slower speeds.


It might be because Direct3D is incompatible with Wine, and the system uses something like OpenGL. I've noticed the Direct3D 8/9 API runs a bit faster than OpenGL.

The reason for his statement might be due to that.
  • 0

#30 SunnyKatt

SunnyKatt

    Code Drama

  • Sandbox Moderators
  • 704 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 07 February 2009 - 10:43 PM

WINE does run slower than on a native operating system. However, program made for linux always run faster than the windows counterparts.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users