Jump to content


Photo

Almora - Online V0.76


  • Please log in to reply
397 replies to this topic

#1 Borek

Borek

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 296 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 10:28 PM

ALMORA ONLINE - MMORPG

Notes:.

Server Application FREE FOR ALL
Remember! There is no documentation of the server, it's for all which never played Almora. Now they can run the server and try the game on lan or internet ::lmao::

DOWNLOAD
Almora - Online CLIENT
Almora - Online SERVER

TRAILER ON YOUTUBE
YOUTUBE

If You want to play on Your own server, You need to launch the server aplication. Next launch the client aplication and leave blank IP ADDRESS FIELD to connect on LAN.
Fast links:

Screenshots
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

| More Screenshots! | Items |

Description
Almora is a new massively multiplayer online role playing game created by Gear Studio.
With epic music by Rob Westwood, the games official music composer.

Server Status:
http://almora.gnysek.pl/

Bug List:
http://gear-studio.c...te/show/alchlog

Music Website:
http://www.robwestwoodmusic.co.uk/

Note on spam

Polish Fan Site:Almora - Online FAN SITE

Polish Forum: http://forum.gmclan....hp?showforum=35

Regards
Gear - Studio 2007 and Grzegorz Borkowski


Edited by Borek, 16 April 2009 - 11:22 AM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#2 bobhoil

bobhoil

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 1606 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 11 July 2007 - 10:31 PM

COOL i am downloading now!
  • 0

300x50.png 

Check out my website at: BobHoil.com


#3 PeglegJimmy

PeglegJimmy

    GMC Member

  • Validating
  • 118 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 10:42 PM

DL'ing now, I'll edit when I'm done

edit: Can't play it, freezes up my computer ::lmao::

Edited by Sir Taja, 11 July 2007 - 11:13 PM.


#4 Keitaro-Kun

Keitaro-Kun

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1002 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 10:47 PM

wasnt this a game a while ago? but offline? ill give it a shot though ..
  • 0

#5 MackaN

MackaN

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 397 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 11:36 PM

meh, it just wont let me in!
  • 0

#6 cred13

cred13

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 270 posts

Posted 11 July 2007 - 11:37 PM

i'm level 10 now:D Downloaded it at the polish site one hour ago or two?::lmao::

Edited by cred13, 11 July 2007 - 11:39 PM.

  • 0

#7 e_barroga

e_barroga

    ES Studios Leader

  • GMC Member
  • 2475 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 01:31 AM

From the posts of the other thread, it's a pretty kick ass game. I've downloaded the older version when the server was offline, so I only got to see the menus, which looked kick ass. But no gameplay yet.

So now is my chance. I'll check it out. Screenshots look promising.
  • 0

rsa_gmc_sig.png

 

logoGIF1.gif EXTENSION. PM TO PURCHASE LICENSE.


#8 Mordi

Mordi

    Maker of Menus

  • New Member
  • 3635 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 02:50 AM

From the posts of the other thread, it's a pretty kick ass game.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I can confirm.

Its such a polished game. One of the best games that i ever played in GM.

Edited by Mordi, 12 July 2007 - 02:50 AM.

  • 0

#9 MilkAndCheese

MilkAndCheese

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 51 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 03:53 AM

Holy crap! It's finally out! I'll edit when I've downloaded it.
  • 0

#10 cheeserules

cheeserules

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 570 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 04:04 AM

You hate CHEESE? You idiot!
kidding ::lmao::
anyway DLing...i'll edit...
EDIT:
"Can't load file!
0 "
is what I get when I try to run it...help?

Edited by cheeserules, 12 July 2007 - 04:06 AM.

  • 0
SOMETHING WITTY!

#11 Armageddon

Armageddon

    Earth, Wind & Fire

  • New Member
  • 64 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 04:12 AM

Damn, this is good.
  • 0
...

#12 thety

thety

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 161 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 04:40 AM

I LOVE THIS GAME SO MUCH
9.9/10
Sometimes i would get disconnected for no reason
but its very little.



If anyone wants to play a good gm/online game then this is the one you want to play. I recommend it!!!
  • 0

#13 Inspire Media

Inspire Media

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 04:47 AM

This is the best indie game I have ever seen.

I will play this, not for testing purposes, but to have fun. This is too freakin' cool. Thank you so much, and please finish this off. lol

Level 2, baby. lol
  • 0

#14 Mordi

Mordi

    Maker of Menus

  • New Member
  • 3635 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 09:26 AM

I really like it, but it takes ages to load up now. were talking minutes! And it ran a lot slower than v0.52...
  • 0

#15 cred13

cred13

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 270 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 09:57 AM

IT's very good i played two hours last night, and the 0.61 fixed the auto logout:D it's very good and much bigger!

edit: :S the áuto logout is back in v.0.62

Edited by cred13, 12 July 2007 - 10:14 AM.

  • 0

#16 Tera4d

Tera4d

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 280 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 11:55 AM

I really like it, but it takes ages to load up now. were talking minutes! And it ran a lot slower than v0.52...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Well it didnt ran at all for me.
I replaced the old amora client and then started it .
And it gave a error that it cant find a file '0'.
Whats goin on?
  • 0

#17 Tehsalemplz

Tehsalemplz

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 646 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 02:43 PM

All I could come up with.

-Refresh the screen less often on during loading to speed up the process... unless you're already doing that, but looping when you refresh to smooth out the bar movement.
-Account for current_time when trying to quit the game (i.e. current_time-delta_time>=10000 game_end()). I had some sort of memory leak and the game started lagging like crazy and it took more like a minute.
-Fix that memory leak. Lol. Don't know how it happened

The game is amazing.
  • 0

#18 acevampire

acevampire

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1367 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 02:59 PM

I really like it, but it takes ages to load up now. were talking minutes! And it ran a lot slower than v0.52...

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Well it didnt ran at all for me.
I replaced the old amora client and then started it .
And it gave a error that it cant find a file '0'.
Whats goin on?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


same.
  • 0

#19 cred13

cred13

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 270 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 03:06 PM

Download version 0.60 and download version 0.62 replace the exe from version 0.62 in the 0.60.
  • 0

#20 Xantier

Xantier

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 362 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 04:07 PM

OMFG i deleted server ip and port not accidently :rolleyes: Can you give me them again ? IP and Port ?
  • 0

#21 MackaN

MackaN

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 397 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 05:13 PM

here you go

83.17.239.227: Online (version: 0.62 Beta; players online: 21; message: New version! 0.60 PORT [ 14804 ])
  • 0

#22 MarxGames

MarxGames

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 90 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 05:45 PM

The game is good, but there is a huge memory leak around 1GB.
  • 0

#23 Tera4d

Tera4d

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 280 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 05:52 PM

I finnaly got able to play it:)
And i must say Well done!
But the loading took 2 minutes wich is long for a 2d game.
And it had enourmous lag on some points.
  • 0

#24 Mordi

Mordi

    Maker of Menus

  • New Member
  • 3635 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 05:56 PM

The game is good, but there is a huge memory leak around 1GB.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Off topic: What do you mean by memory leak? Unnecessary use of memory? When i played, my memory was darn low. :rolleyes:

Edit: Disregard.

In computer science, a memory leak is a particular kind of unintentional memory consumption by a computer program where the program fails to release memory when no longer needed. The term is meant as a humorous misnomer, since memory is not physically lost from the computer. Rather, memory is allocated to a program, and that program subsequently loses the ability to access it due to program logic flaws.


Edited by Mordi, 12 July 2007 - 05:57 PM.

  • 0

#25 cookie

cookie

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 137 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 06:12 PM

What is this made in as i am running in Kubuntu Linux and gm7 games do not run due to directx9 deficiency's.

Edited by cookie, 12 July 2007 - 06:13 PM.

  • 0

#26 Revel

Revel

    ɹǝqɯǝɯ ɔɯƃ

  • GMC Member
  • 4935 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 12 July 2007 - 06:19 PM

Downloading this 42Mb File.
Looks amazing though.

What is this made in as i am running in Kubuntu Linux and gm7 games do not run due to directx9 deficiency's.

Hmm.Fishy :huh:

This game takes longer to load that any other GM game i have seen, or any game i have ever played for that matter.

It used up all the rest of my memory witch i haven't had since i bought more ram about 5 months ago. take a look at This Screenshot.

P.S. i never got it to load fully :rolleyes:

Edited by Revel, 12 July 2007 - 06:59 PM.

  • 0

#27 cookie

cookie

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 137 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 06:53 PM

Downloading this 42Mb File.
Looks amazing though.

What is this made in as i am running in Kubuntu Linux and gm7 games do not run due to directx9 deficiency's.

Hmm.Fishy :rolleyes:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Fishy? Are you even aware what your talking about?
  • 0

#28 Jamifa

Jamifa

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 501 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 07:19 PM

Yes! It's finally here! It's pretty cool, but I HATE how long it takes to load. Nice work on balancing out the stats, but it's STILL not really worth it to level up vitality for more max hp(it only gives you one more for every level!). Really, it's only practical use is to be able to use certain items.

Edited by Jamifa, 12 July 2007 - 07:19 PM.

  • 0

#29 Marchal_Mig12

Marchal_Mig12

    The Rhouan

  • GMC Member
  • 1182 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 12 July 2007 - 07:55 PM

Acess violation when I loaded up to 1/5 of total amount of files :S. It may be caused by the unneficient amount of memory I guess, I'll try it on a better computer.
  • 0

#30 e_barroga

e_barroga

    ES Studios Leader

  • GMC Member
  • 2475 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 08:34 PM

I have to agree. It uses up way too much memory for a typical 2d game. Not to mention, top-down.

By the way.

It's not really a good idea to have the player's character name their username as well. For security measures you should have: username, password, and character name. Password and username never being revealed to other players.

Edited by e_barroga, 12 July 2007 - 08:42 PM.

  • 0

rsa_gmc_sig.png

 

logoGIF1.gif EXTENSION. PM TO PURCHASE LICENSE.


#31 homebrewpc

homebrewpc

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 651 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 08:47 PM

Definitely glad this wasn't abandoned! :rolleyes:

HomebrewPC
  • 0

GMArcade is being remade into iPlayIndie, check out our development topic for more information.

#32 Conman

Conman

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 36 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 08:59 PM

I wish I could play, but there is too much loading and it ate my memory and corrupted a lot of my files. I don't know what else to say. :rolleyes:
  • 0

#33 sub

sub

    EVIL GENIUS

  • GMC Member
  • 1905 posts
  • Version:GM6

Posted 12 July 2007 - 10:16 PM

can i play it and NOT have to go online?
  • 0

#34 homebrewpc

homebrewpc

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 651 posts

Posted 12 July 2007 - 10:39 PM

can i play it and NOT have to go online?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Nope. You can see the menu without going online :(

HomebrewPC
  • 0

GMArcade is being remade into iPlayIndie, check out our development topic for more information.

#35 Wolf017

Wolf017

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 531 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 12:03 AM

DL'ing now, I'll edit when I'm done

edit: Can't play it, freezes up my computer :)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



Downloading this 42Mb File.
Looks amazing though.

What is this made in as i am running in Kubuntu Linux and gm7 games do not run due to directx9 deficiency's.

Hmm.Fishy :D

This game takes longer to load that any other GM game i have seen, or any game i have ever played for that matter.

It used up all the rest of my memory witch i haven't had since i bought more ram about 5 months ago. take a look at This Screenshot.

P.S. i never got it to load fully :(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



I wish I could play, but there is too much loading and it ate my memory and corrupted a lot of my files. I don't know what else to say.  :(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


All of this happenes too me... Is it possible to get a less graphically intense version that takes up less of my virtual memory? It took about 1.21 GB for me then everything just shut down.
  • 0

#36 Vyzer

Vyzer

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 721 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 01:37 AM

The game won't start up for me due to some missing file error, and lagged a lot when it loaded. Good job anyway, though, at least in the graphical aspect.
  • 0

#37 mike0281

mike0281

    GMC Member

  • Validating
  • 670 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 01:42 AM

It would not load past the L on mine and i tried a couple times. I was looking forward to playing this to!

#38 Zelda4evr

Zelda4evr

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 615 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 13 July 2007 - 01:57 AM

i tried playing it, but the loading bar ingame got 3/4's the way and i had to restart my computer.....can't play it.
  • 0

#39 soccer99

soccer99

    Unschooled Developer

  • GMC Member
  • 524 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 03:37 AM

They announced in the almora fan forum that he might not work on it anymore.... This is a sad day...

Edited by soccer99, 13 July 2007 - 03:38 AM.

  • 0

I am a programmer and filmmaker.


#40 Inspire Media

Inspire Media

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 06:23 AM

After a bit of playing, I noticed that I get some bad lag in some areas. And the PvP arena is nearly impossible, because of the most terrible lag ever. lol

Addictive game though. I'm just about to play it, too.

I noticed one terrible bug, though. If you have any level points, and you die, you lose them. I'm not talking experience. I'm talking about the points that you use to upgrade your character. Now, I can't use the fireball spell. Waiting until the next level, I guess. :(

Also. I dislike the reputation system. Almost half of the gold I find doesn't belong to me, even though no other plays are around, and the monsters have full health. I don't care about my reputation anymore. I've decided that gold is gold, and I'm gonna take it.

EDIT: Never mind, server is offline.

Edited by Inspire Media, 13 July 2007 - 06:36 AM.

  • 0

#41 Newly Discovered

Newly Discovered

    Harmonious Genius

  • GMC Member
  • 2475 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 13 July 2007 - 02:50 PM

gotta love those online games that won't let you online.
  • 0

poof_sig.png


#42 mike0281

mike0281

    GMC Member

  • Validating
  • 670 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 03:18 PM

this game went down the drain as of currently

#43 llama man

llama man

    NOD Logo Artist

  • GMC Member
  • 1592 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 13 July 2007 - 03:55 PM

Well... There's alot of problems. Less pros than cons at the moment actually =P

The loading is WAAAAAAY to long. Oh and some of you that have problems loading after 3/4 of the bar, its just really, really slow. First it loads slow, then it gets übersupermegaslow.

There's this annoying bu that wont let me hurt enemies if i shoot at them with a certain angle (there are several angles though), it hits, but it just doesnt HIT lol.

And the reputation-thingie sucks, i mean SUCKS. Apparently my gold belongs to someone else. Why? I was the one to kill it. Even after the gold gets "unbelonging" to anyone i get 1 point off my reputation. =(
Its also bad that you can steal other peoples stuff. I found a cool armor, and some @#¤%&$ came and stole it from me. Maybe some people doesnt care a single bit about their reputation? What if i found a super1337-item and some noob took it? That item is worth aloooooot of reputation. I dont care about his reputation either, i just want my item. Its stupid, make others unable to pick up my stuff for a certain amount of time, say 12536123941337 hours.

There's much lag at some places. I had to turn everything ('cept for the wonderful music) off to have a full solid FPS. The rocks disappeared though =( So now i dont know where i can sit down and rest. I rarely gets hit so it doesnt matter but anyway... Dont remove the rocks you can sit on.

The enemies and players dissapear sometimes. I was fighting like 4 enemies at a time and then they just... Well, dissapeared (am i spelling that right?). A second later they were there again, then away, then there, then away, etc etc. Happened to the players too when i went into the tavern for a competition. I like the competitions btw, and those other random events.

It keeps logging me out for no particular reason. It happens mostly when i go to the shopkeeper at the weaponstore though.

And some other random bugs i dont remember.

The game is awesome still, make the servers go online i want to play :wacko: I can almost afford the 36 strenght and 70 agility bow... Hehe.
  • 0



#44 lukesterspy

lukesterspy

    Robofish

  • GMC Member
  • 762 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 13 July 2007 - 04:34 PM

Lol, w00t, the new version is out! Hey, we have to create new accounts right? Sorry about new account spam I posted a while ago. This is going to be awsome if the server is up when the download is finished (41% right now, it is going pretty fast actually).

EDIT: I think that the Gear - Studio site is down, I can't seem to get to the server status.

EDIT 2: I think that the site is back up again, but the server is down :wacko:. Oh well, maybe later, at least the new version is here!

Edited by lukesterspy, 13 July 2007 - 05:02 PM.

  • 0

R o b o fish Games


#45 e_barroga

e_barroga

    ES Studios Leader

  • GMC Member
  • 2475 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 04:40 PM

Wow, I didn't notice any reputation system.

But how does the system work? Like what's the cons to having a bad reputation besides the fact that it's a bad reputation. If not, its definitely worth the good item.
  • 0

rsa_gmc_sig.png

 

logoGIF1.gif EXTENSION. PM TO PURCHASE LICENSE.


#46 llama man

llama man

    NOD Logo Artist

  • GMC Member
  • 1592 posts
  • Version:GM8.1

Posted 13 July 2007 - 09:15 PM

Im confused... Where do you guys find the new versions? On the gearstudio site i can only find up to ver 0.62, and in boreks first post there's no sign of any 0.65. Help me please? Sorry for being offtopic (i think) but i really want to know =P
  • 0



#47 Borek

Borek

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 296 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 09:58 PM

New version incoming check www.gear-studio.com in 3 minutes
  • 0
Posted Image

#48 Wolf017

Wolf017

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 531 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 10:00 PM

So you didnt quit!

/rejoice

Edit: um, i got a 404 error, O.o
Edit: "Broken link, please wait, sorry" Oh, ok, you saw that one.

Edited by Wolf017, 13 July 2007 - 10:04 PM.

  • 0

#49 BlaXun

BlaXun

    Slime Online Creator

  • GMC Member
  • 2750 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 13 July 2007 - 10:25 PM

I cam back from a 2 week trip today....will test this now =)
  • 0

iBNKRoX.png


#50 soccer99

soccer99

    Unschooled Developer

  • GMC Member
  • 524 posts

Posted 14 July 2007 - 04:54 AM

0.065 is out! and servers are back up!! I'm so happy!
I noticed a change with the way monsters respawn. (Or maybe I just thought i did..) But hopefuly its to reduce lag for some people.
  • 0

I am a programmer and filmmaker.