Jump to content


Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

Sonic Engine 360 (Essentials)


  • Please log in to reply
90 replies to this topic

#1 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 29 October 2006 - 08:15 PM

  • Title: Sonic Engine 360 (Essentials) - New 6 Year Update!
  • Description: Easy to use Sonic engine with slopes and all of the basic essentials
  • GM Version: :GM8:
  • Registered: Yes
  • File Type: .gmk
  • File Size: 157KB
  • File Link: Sonic Engine 360.gmk
  • Old Link: The original Sonic.gm6 (from 2006)
  • Tags: Sonic, Engine, Slopes, Slope, Angle, Rotate, Roll, Physics, Collision, Collisions, Proper, 360, Full Circle, Precise, Jump-through, Platform, Platforms, Ring Loss, Flexaplex, Damizean, McdIzzY, Game Maker, Example, Engine, Tutorial, How To
Summary
A new update 6 years later! I've now combined this old engine with my alteration and extension of Damizean's slope engine (I've fixed a few bugs from it) to create a well rounded Sonic engine with all the essentials you should need to make a Sonic game. It's designed with the aim to be easy for anybody to just pick and use as a base for their game. I have attempted to mimic the original Sega games as closely as I could with the controls, physics and animation.

Controls
Left/Right Arrow  =  Move
Down Arrow        =  Roll / Crouch
Space/Z/CTRL      =  Jump / Spin Dash (when crouched)
Features
- Full 360 slope collision engine: different depth layers, loops, jump-through / moving platforms and physics
- Extensive animation and control sequencing: jumping, rolling, springing, waiting, running, spin dash, dying, pushing, braking, balancing
- The basic action sounds
- HUD
- Items: spikes, end-post, multi-directional springs (handles springs of any angle), rings (including proper ring loss action)
- NEW! Boxes & Shields: Invincibility, Sneekers, Fire, Electricity, Water (with actions)
- Modular, well documented, neat coding style; easy to adapt
- NEW! Level Baker script included: This can optionally be used to hugely increase the efficiency of levels

Screenshots
***Posted Image***Posted Image***Posted Image***

Credits
Optional, but if you wish you can give credit to:
- Damizean & McdIzzY (for the original slope engine)
- Kain (for the boxes in his Sonic 3 engine)
- Flexaplex (for this engine).
  • 4
:]

#2 edmunn

edmunn

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1298 posts

Posted 29 October 2006 - 09:02 PM

wow, very nice, i know slopes can be quite a chore...
9.9999/10!!
  • 0

Posted Image
Please PM / Email your suggestions!

15.4" Apple MacBook Pro Late 08', 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, SSD
Mac OS X Lion


:)

#3 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 29 October 2006 - 09:17 PM

ty 9.9999/10 that's close to perfect
  • 0
:]

#4 Link2370

Link2370

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 70 posts

Posted 30 October 2006 - 12:40 AM

this is one of the only engines that work, most are corrupted for me. Thanks alot! ::lmao::
  • 0

#5 user_name

user_name

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 80 posts

Posted 30 October 2006 - 03:28 AM

Nice job man! similar to mine only mine is for sonic chaos. Are you making an entire game because I am working on one.
http://forums.gamema...howtopic=252072
  • 0

#6 Tritus Debris

Tritus Debris

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 4 posts

Posted 30 October 2006 - 07:38 AM

Very good job! I thik i will using this engine ::lmao::
  • 0

#7 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 30 October 2006 - 10:40 AM

thanks for the replies i have actually spent more time on this overall than i would normally but i'm not really too bothered about it... if it can help anyone then i am happy.
user_name no i'm probably not going make a full game haven't got the patience to go though all the level design and everything. I took a quick look at your example... looks pretty good, i expected there to be other good sonic games out there. and like i said feel free to use any code from it if your missing anything from your game.

Edited by flexaplex, 11 April 2007 - 12:50 PM.

  • 0
:]

#8 user_name

user_name

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 80 posts

Posted 30 October 2006 - 12:37 PM

Oh don't worry, I credit everyone.
  • 0

#9 Daniel-Dane

Daniel-Dane

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 3581 posts

Posted 30 October 2006 - 01:29 PM

You've made a pretty good job, I didn't go into details but it looked like a good clone ^_^.

Btw ... http://forums.gamema...howtopic=252218
  • 0

#10 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 30 October 2006 - 01:38 PM

ok daniel thanks... didn't notice that.
i'll just wait until a mod stumbles across this and moves it.
is that a new rule then?
  • 0
:]

#11 CakeMan

CakeMan

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 73 posts

Posted 30 October 2006 - 07:22 PM

wow this game is great. i'll make sure i refer to this when people ask about sonic.
and yeah that is a new rule i think it was posted yesterday, i don't think are going to move previosly posted topic though.
would this be classed as an engine or an example though?? i don't even know the difference :S

Edited by CakeMan, 30 October 2006 - 07:24 PM.

  • 0

#12 Ablach Blackrat

Ablach Blackrat

    GMC Member

  • GMC Elder
  • 1215 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 30 October 2006 - 10:09 PM

i'll just wait till a mod stubles across this and moves it.
is that a new rule then?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yep. We believe that engines, which in effect extend the use of Game Maker for people, will be more at home in Extending and will probably receive more views since that's where people go to find tools to help them. That being said I'll go ahead and move this.
  • 0



#13 lumina

lumina

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 172 posts

Posted 31 October 2006 - 03:51 AM

TRUTH ZONE BEGIN-All "clones" are illeagle you could be sued for this!-TRUTH ZONE END
  • 0

#14 Sindarin

Sindarin

    Indie Game Developer

  • New Member
  • 1644 posts
  • Version:GM:HTML5

Posted 31 October 2006 - 09:35 AM

I like the balancing, I've been trying to do this in my platform for ages.
  • 0
GM 8.1 / GM:HTML5 User

#15 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 12 November 2006 - 04:59 PM

ty for the nice comments

(and i'm sure sega aren't to bothered about people making their own sonic games in gm)
  • 0
:]

#16 Magikarp

Magikarp

    Dark Age Owner

  • GMC Member
  • 113 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 13 November 2006 - 12:20 AM

Hm... very good.. however how about enemies? or are they in act 2?
  • 0

#17 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 13 November 2006 - 05:03 PM

ty, .. but no i didn't make enemies for this as i see them more as level/game design than as part of an engine.
  • 0
:]

#18 kORONA

kORONA

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 14 November 2006 - 05:34 AM

nice reviews :)
  • 0

#19 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 15 November 2006 - 05:34 PM

nice reviews

thankyou.
  • 0
:]

#20 boss3

boss3

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 11 posts

Posted 15 November 2006 - 06:03 PM

Very nice :(

No enemies though. They are pretty simple to code. I put some in.

I got through level 2
  • 0

#21 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 16 November 2006 - 09:59 PM

thanks i'm glad you liked it, i don't intend to add enemies, but like you said you cann add those yourself there not hard.
and wd for getting though level 2 the ending to that is pretty difficult, if you want an either harder challenge try and get 100 rings on the levels.. it's extremely difficult.
  • 0
:]

#22 BlueMario

BlueMario

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 442 posts

Posted 18 November 2006 - 02:32 AM

This is extremely nice, but I only found one thing wrong.
Everytime you jump, you jump a given distance and can't do a short jump.
Other than that, I felt like I was playing a Sonic Game!
11/10! :)
  • 0

#23 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 19 November 2006 - 06:23 PM

tyvm BlueMmario,
and about the jumping,i might update it some time, thanks for noticing.
  • 0
:]

#24 E.B

E.B

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 149 posts

Posted 25 December 2006 - 09:36 PM

very nice and smooth-my only suggestion would be (on the 5.3 GMD Version) to get rid of the need for sprites of sonic in all positions left AND right. My suggestion would just be to set image_xscale to -1. (It would flip the sprite horiztonally, and with less sprites needed, as you could only use the right sprites and mirror it, it will run smoother and quicker). Although if you have to re-write your entire engine...maybe not bother :(

Anyways, 10/10, great job bud :(
  • 0

#25 9_6

9_6

    Guest

  • GMC Member
  • 3627 posts

Posted 26 December 2006 - 12:48 AM

Nice but to me sonic isn't sonic without slopes.
  • 0

#26 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 11 April 2007 - 01:20 PM

ok the link was broken.. fixed now.
yeah E.B i can mirror the sprite it would be a lot better since it would cut down on a lot of sprites, i started making it before i knew i could and it would involve rewritting a lot of the engine and i'm too lazy now to do it.
  • 0
:]

#27 metal-games

metal-games

    metal-games

  • New Member
  • 732 posts

Posted 11 April 2007 - 07:26 PM

9.999/10 very nice-i have been making a sonic game for ages now and it's a lot like this but has enemys a menu but dos'ent have time on.i would use it coz it's mint but like i said am already making one
  • 0

#28 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 20 April 2007 - 07:19 PM

You don't have to use the entire engine.. you can just steal the timer (and whatever else you want) and put it in your engine if you wish <_<
  • 0
:]

#29 Grego

Grego

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1155 posts

Posted 20 April 2007 - 07:24 PM

i would use it coz it's mint

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Mint...oh how I miss that word usage.
  • 0

#30 Phlum MKII

Phlum MKII

    Captain Slow is on patrol!

  • GMC Member
  • 921 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 25 April 2007 - 06:30 PM

Its not... fluid like the original.

TRUTH ZONE BEGIN-All "clones" are illeagle you could be sued for this!-TRUTH ZONE END

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Clones aren't illegal. If they're commercial, you need rights, otherwise you don't.







Hehehehehe this is awesome;)
  • 0

'ey up, y' 'r't?

aye, 'm 'r't pal, y' 'r't?

aye, n't s' bad.


#31 m09868

m09868

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2007 - 10:31 PM

flexaplex:

i downloaded it and the game works fine but it wont let me create levels. they keep reporting bugs and i dont know how to fix them.
  • 0

#32 m09868

m09868

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 134 posts

Posted 25 April 2007 - 10:40 PM

in order for it to work correctly do you need the pro version?
  • 0

#33 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 25 April 2007 - 11:35 PM

no you don't need the registered version the gm6 works fine with unreg GM6 & GM7 and the gmd works fine with unreg GM5... are you sure your using the right version?
What is the error message you are getting when creating the levels? Are you getting errors with what i have or things you have added yourself?
  • 0
:]

#34 ideweever

ideweever

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 108 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 08:00 AM

Dude are you a professional or something? Because the physics in this example are incredible.
This example will help me a lot but discourage me at the same time. Because now I feel like I’m a cheater or parasite. Anyway
GOOD JOB DUDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GREAT WORK. :) :(

Edited by ideweever, 26 April 2007 - 08:06 AM.

  • 0

where is that monkey?

#35 DMEISTER

DMEISTER

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 2692 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 08:13 AM

Because now I feel like I’m a cheater or parasite.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Well you shouldn't feel like either of those. Think of it as a template. If the author didn't want people to use it they would not have released it.
  • 0

#36 m09868

m09868

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 134 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 12:36 PM

no you don't need the registered version the gm6 works fine with unreg GM6 & GM7 and the gmd works fine with unreg GM5... are you sure your using the right version?
What is the error message you are getting when creating the levels? Are you getting errors with what i have or things you have added yourself?


ok,but i dont have time to make a quick level and write all the errors so ill tell you how i built it to see if i did something wrong.

1.made the floor with the block with grass on the top
2.made a roof with the block that is brown
3.insert sonic sprite at the beginning of the level

after school ill write down the bugs
  • 0

#37 m09868

m09868

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 134 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 12:43 PM

i figured it out. you insert a computer at the begining of the level and not the sonic sprite.


thank you for everything
  • 0

#38 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 26 April 2007 - 01:18 PM

Dude are you a professional or something? Because the physics in this example are incredible.
This example will help me a lot but discourage me at the same time. Because now I feel like I’m a cheater or parasite. Anyway
GOOD JOB DUDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GREAT WORK. :) :(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks, and like DMEISTER you don't have to feel guilty or like your cheating for using it.. there's still a lot of work involved in making a full game. If you try and learn something and look over what i've done then you should eventually develope the skills to be able to do it yourself.
And i am perfectly happy for you to use it.. as long as you give me credit ;)

i figured it out. you insert a computer at the begining of the level and not the sonic sprite.


thank you for everything

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yeah you need to put the controller object in the room.. it will create sonic at the start at the game.
  • 0
:]

#39 m09868

m09868

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 134 posts

Posted 26 April 2007 - 09:44 PM

ok something is not right. so i create a room and put the room width to 2980 like the first level that you made. but when i play it the sprite is thin. ? how do i fix this and how do i get the camera to follow me?
  • 0

#40 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 26 April 2007 - 10:32 PM

ok i have no idea why your sprite is thin..?
To make it follow you just have to set up the view the same. I advise for creating new levels to duplicate an existing room and edit it from there... then there wont be things missed out.
  • 0
:]

#41 m09868

m09868

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 134 posts

Posted 27 April 2007 - 02:09 AM

thanx
  • 0

#42 crazydude765

crazydude765

    The Ultimate Life Form

  • New Member
  • 326 posts

Posted 10 June 2007 - 05:36 PM

nice game and engine. shame about not having slopes, though- but from experience i know that programming them is tricky, sorry- fiendishly evilised.
the platforms were horribly blocky, though i liked the sonic and ring sprites.

overall 7/10
  • 0

#43 Gamer3D

Gamer3D

    Human* me = this;

  • GMC Member
  • 1819 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 13 June 2007 - 08:24 PM

Too slow, so does not feel like a sonic game.
  • 0
Fast Priority Queues - Game Maker's priority queues are O(n). Mine do everything that Game Maker's do, but in O(log n) time.
Dual-Quaternion Skinning - Modifying vertexes in GM is slow. This simple vertex shader does the job both quickly and well.

#44 ejackson

ejackson

    Topic Bumper

  • New Member
  • 416 posts

Posted 16 June 2007 - 05:52 AM

wow this is really cool
  • 0

#45 flexaplex

flexaplex

    GMC Member

  • Global Moderators
  • 4814 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 27 June 2007 - 02:14 PM

thanx for the replies
  • 0
:]

#46 jakeyboy01

jakeyboy01

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 226 posts

Posted 30 June 2007 - 05:53 PM

dude u r gr8! -_- :D this thing rocks! im in the middle of makin a sonic game but with tails as the main caracter and changin the sprites is easy now. this is my first game and im not that good but this is alrite.
  • 0

#47 jakeyboy01

jakeyboy01

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 226 posts

Posted 04 July 2007 - 10:33 AM

ok were did u find all this code? i want to make tails fly wen u press space wile he is in the sprite wich u called sonic_roll in the air *gasp*. is there a web page were u can learn code?

Edited by jakeyboy01, 04 July 2007 - 05:11 PM.

  • 0

#48 n64gamer1205

n64gamer1205

    GMC Member

  • Validating
  • 429 posts

Posted 04 July 2007 - 06:22 PM

:(
Excellent game!
great scripting
music goes with the game
nice effects and collisions!

10!
;)

#49 Go Bologna

Go Bologna

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 232 posts

Posted 13 July 2007 - 06:16 PM

How could I combine this with Damizean's 360 Sonic Engine? That would be cool...
  • 0

#50 Manaphy94

Manaphy94

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 142 posts

Posted 25 July 2007 - 02:05 PM

thanks 9,999/10 :D
  • 0