Jump to content


Photo

3d Car Creator Pro - Cancelled


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
96 replies to this topic

#1 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 29 July 2005 - 11:42 AM

3D Car Creator Pro

Cancelled.

Edited by percsich.hu, 17 September 2007 - 08:05 PM.

  • 0

#2 josku_x

josku_x

    GMC Member

  • Validating
  • 186 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 12:10 PM

WOW! Awesome! Very cool! I will make my racing game now :P

#3 gamez93

gamez93

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 892 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 12:16 PM

What program did you use to make this
  • 0

#4 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 29 July 2005 - 12:18 PM

What program did you use to make this

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


It is Game Maker 6.

Edit:
or, what do you mean?

Edited by percsich.hu, 29 July 2005 - 12:19 PM.

  • 0

#5 gamez93

gamez93

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 892 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 12:34 PM

I was wondering if you made this in Game maker - because you could post this in the Game Creations forum
  • 0

#6 RhysAndrews

RhysAndrews

    Game Designer

  • GMC Member
  • 2012 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 29 July 2005 - 12:34 PM

Wrong Forum.
Mods move this to GameMaker Creations.
Nice app!
  • 0

#7 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 29 July 2005 - 12:57 PM

Wrong Forum.
Mods move this to GameMaker Creations.
Nice app!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


<OFF>
It is always the same, when I post a new program to 3D Game Techniques. (just like this one) At first it seems, that is it just a simple program, but if you run it (or even USE IT), you realize, that these programs create 3D related files. There is one important point in all of them: they produce GM Scripts, which I think 3D related.
Program of course can be moved to GameMaker Creations, but users who use the generated scripts wouldn't search this program in that forum.

(discussing about which program belongs which forum is not my goal, and it creates noise in the feedback of this program)
</OFF>

:P

Thank you.
  • 0

#8 game freak

game freak

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 125 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 01:55 PM

could you make it do more than cars like people and stuff please!
  • 0

#9 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 29 July 2005 - 02:29 PM

could you make it do more than cars like people and stuff please!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


This program was written especially for creating car models, but I have plans for the 3D Creature Designer. Other general objects can be created more easily with some professional modeler.
  • 0

#10 3dcoder

3dcoder

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 278 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 02:57 PM

Hey, thats good! You have very great 3D programs, always.

But ehh... How I add these points??
  • 0

#11 Simple_Minds

Simple_Minds

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 81 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 04:29 PM

This program is great. However it would be much better if you could add your own points.
  • 0

#12 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 29 July 2005 - 05:01 PM

Hey, thats good! You have very great 3D programs, always.

But ehh... How I add these points??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



This program is great.  However it would be much better if you could add your own points.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I think that would be a great function if you could add points, but that would also produce "human errors". I mean there will be unfinished polygons and holes in the faces. (Actually I am using Anim8or for 2 years, and I still make errors during making the model). So I think giving people less functions produces less errors.

And this is just the first version, so who knows what we'll have... :P

Anyway, thank you for your tests and suggestions!
  • 0

#13 Spengo

Spengo

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 491 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 05:14 PM

Hmm, this is pretty cool, but it is lacking in one thing- textures! :) All you can do is change the color of the body and the windscreen. You need to be able to make textures for the cars too. :P
  • 0

#14 GML-PUNK

GML-PUNK

    DC Productions

  • New Member
  • 460 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 05:54 PM

How do you load the cars into game maker??
  • 0
PROJECTS | |

#15 FredFredrickson

FredFredrickson

    Artist

  • Global Moderators
  • 9217 posts
  • Version:GM:Studio

Posted 29 July 2005 - 06:18 PM

Does it automatically compute normals?
  • 0

#16 AWB

AWB

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 27 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 06:41 PM

I agree with everyone - it is a great program. I also think that you need to give people the chance to add points - in the worst case the will just start from the beginning again or something... also the car dosen't have wheels!
  • 0

#17 Spengo

Spengo

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 491 posts

Posted 29 July 2005 - 06:56 PM

Why would you need to model wheels? :) They are just cylinders. But yeah, you definitely need to be able to add and delete vertices. :D I can't stand being stuck with the same number/not being able to start from scratch. :P
  • 0

#18 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 29 July 2005 - 07:18 PM

Thanks everyone!

Hmm, this is pretty cool, but it is lacking in one thing- textures! :GM028: All you can do is change the color of the body and the windscreen. You need to be able to make textures for the cars too. :D

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Yes, I am working on the UVMapper. This will create an empty texture (only outlines) which fits properly in the polygons (faces), then you can "paint" it as you wish. :P

How do you load the cars into game maker??

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


The generated D3D file is a GM6.1 script. You should insert it into the Creation event of the object.

Does it automatically compute normals?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Currently no normals are calculated. :D

I agree with everyone - it is a great program. I also think that you need to give people the chance to add points - in the worst case the will just start from the beginning again or something... also the car dosen't have wheels!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Why would you need to model wheels? :GM060: They are just cylinders. But yeah, you definitely need to be able to add and delete vertices. :GM060: I can't stand being stuck with the same number/not being able to start from scratch. :GM063:

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Ok, I'll see what could be the best way to add/delete points. :)
  • 0

#19 3dcoder

3dcoder

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 278 posts

Posted 30 July 2005 - 06:51 AM

I think that these features can be nice and useful:

-possible bigger screen area
-adding points (I.E: byt holding control key down and then clikking)
-possibility to add textures to models
-and front view to fully edit car
  • 0

#20 rpgfreak2004

rpgfreak2004

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 282 posts

Posted 30 July 2005 - 10:26 AM

It's VERY good,but can't you inserts an option it outputs it as a vertex script?
I use GM 6.0 so i can's use models :'(
  • 0

#21 tcm9669

tcm9669

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 19 posts

Posted 30 July 2005 - 11:35 AM

It's VERY good,but can't you inserts an option it outputs it as a vertex script?
I use GM 6.0 so i can's use models :'(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I think that you should upgrade and use 6.1! Why not???? if you are registered there is no problem and if you are not registered there is no problem.. so why not download GM 6.1!!!

Edited by tcm9669, 30 July 2005 - 11:35 AM.

  • 0

#22 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 30 July 2005 - 10:19 PM

I think that these features can be nice and useful:

-possible bigger screen area
-adding points (I.E: byt holding control key down and then clikking)
-possibility to add textures to models
-and front view to fully edit car

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I am working on the texture editor (UVMapper), but I am still not sure about the possibility to add new points. ;)
If you add a point, you also have to connect it with another two for creating a proper triangle (face). The order of the points are also important, so these things requires some knowledge of the basic mesh editing modelling, which is -originally- not required for using this program.

That's why I am hesitating. ;)


It's VERY good,but can't you inserts an option it outputs it as a vertex script?
I use GM 6.0 so i can's use models :'(

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


You can easily replace the functions to the GM6.0 draw functions:
d3d_model_primitive_begin => d3d_primitive_begin
d3d_model_vertex_texture => d3d_vertex_texture
and model IDs (cid, wid) must be removed.

Then it will be a nice GM6.0 script, which can be inserted to the draw event. :(
  • 0

#23 ColdShellProductions

ColdShellProductions

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 317 posts

Posted 31 July 2005 - 05:06 AM

how do i actually load the image to gm6.0 i dont know how
  • 0

#24 jack martinson

jack martinson

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 46 posts

Posted 31 July 2005 - 06:05 AM

cool
  • 0

#25 Spengo

Spengo

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 491 posts

Posted 31 July 2005 - 06:12 AM

I doesn't work with gm6.0 I don't think. ;)
  • 0

#26 Toni12

Toni12

    Designer

  • New Member
  • 851 posts
  • Version:GM8

Posted 01 August 2005 - 12:17 AM

Mother ****er! :D I can't load the model to a script! :D
This is one of the best GM Model Programs I've Seen Though! :D
  • 0

#27 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 01 August 2005 - 07:00 AM

Mother ****er! :D  I can't load the model to a script! :D
This is one of the best GM Model Programs I've Seen Though! :D

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I am working on version 2, which is a totally rewrite of the program. You can insert/delete points and can export to several formats (GM6.0, GM6.1). :D

Please hold on... :D
  • 0

#28 3dcoder

3dcoder

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 278 posts

Posted 01 August 2005 - 03:10 PM

Great, I hope you release it soon.
  • 0

#29 glu2305

glu2305

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 01 August 2005 - 09:11 PM

The generated D3D file is a GM6.1 script. You should insert it into the Creation event of the object.

I still dont know how to put it into game maker. Could you maybe give a code of some sort to help me out, thanks

Edited by glu2305, 01 August 2005 - 09:18 PM.

  • 0

#30 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 01 August 2005 - 09:18 PM

I still dont know how to put it into game maker. You said

"The generated D3D file is a GM6.1 script. You should insert it into the Creation event of the object. "

but have no clue

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>



OK.

Step1:
Create an Object

Step2:
Copy the generated file content in to the Creation event

Step3:
In the Draw event:

draw_set_color(c_blue);
d3d_model_draw(cid,100,100,0,-1);
draw_set_color(c_black);
d3d_model_draw(wid,100,100,0,-1);

That's all.


(100,100,0) is the x,y,z coordinate where you like to put it.
  • 0

#31 glu2305

glu2305

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 01 August 2005 - 09:21 PM

how do you copy the generated file content in to the Creation event

sorry if im being annoying
  • 0

#32 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 01 August 2005 - 09:24 PM

how do you copy the generated file content in to the Creation event

sorry if im being annoying

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


1. Run NotePad
2. Open the generated file
3. Edit->Select All (Ctlr+A)
4. Edit->Copy All (Ctrl+C)

5. Run Game Maker
6. Follow the step I've written.

:D
  • 0

#33 glu2305

glu2305

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 01 August 2005 - 10:18 PM

i'm using GM6 when I run the game it shows me that it has a problem with this code:

draw_set_color(c_blue);
d3d_model_draw(cid,100,100,0,-1);
draw_set_color(c_black);
d3d_model_draw(wid,100,100,0,-1);

not sure what the problem is

I followed each step correctly and removed all the things you said I dont need as you said

You can easily replace the functions to the GM6.0 draw functions:
d3d_model_primitive_begin => d3d_primitive_begin
d3d_model_vertex_texture => d3d_vertex_texture
and model IDs (cid, wid) must be removed.


I did that

Edited by glu2305, 01 August 2005 - 10:18 PM.

  • 0

#34 Spengo

Spengo

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 491 posts

Posted 01 August 2005 - 10:59 PM

You can't use d3d_model_draw with gm6.0! There are no model functions. You have to big list of d3d_vertex_texture and stuff in the draw event because it must go thru the script every draw step. It can't save models and just recall them at the draw step.

PS, you also have to get rid of the model id if all you are doing is changing d3d_mode_vertex_texture to d3d_vertex_texture. How bout you look in the help file that comes with gm and figure some of this out yourself? :D (click on the talk bubble with a ? button)
  • 0

#35 glu2305

glu2305

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 20 posts

Posted 02 August 2005 - 02:44 PM

:)
The car shows vertecly on my screen. Could you maybe provide me with a camara that would follow it horizontaly.

Thanks
  • 0

#36 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 04 August 2005 - 01:52 PM

:D
The car shows vertecly on my screen.  Could you maybe provide me with a camara that would follow it horizontaly.

Thanks

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


The model needs to be transformed as It was created with a modeler program (e.g.: Anim8or). Their coordinates are different from that we use in GM.

This is the transformation I use with these models:

d3d_transform_set_identity();
d3d_transform_add_rotation_x(90);
d3d_transform_add_rotation_y(180);
d3d_transform_add_rotation_z(direction+90);
d3d_transform_add_translation(x,y,z);
.. draw model ...
d3d_transform_set_identity();

  • 0

#37 NEED HELP sorta

NEED HELP sorta

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1501 posts

Posted 04 August 2005 - 03:15 PM

Looks great! :)
Also I just want to say, you have some patience man(you know with the whole people expecting more from you just because you made the program. :D ). :D
Anyway...
I'm going to download it now and try it out.
One thing I'd also like to ask is: how long have you been using Game Maker?
  • 0
http://img159.images...025/scr1ea8.png
http://img374.images...944/scr2hf6.png
Alagaesia Online - Not yet released.

You can bring the release date closer, by helping at the following topics:
Intro Narration
Music Topic

#38 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 04 August 2005 - 06:52 PM

Looks great! :D
Also I just want to say, you have some patience man(you know with the whole people expecting more from you just because you made the program. :D ). :medieval:
Anyway...
I'm going to download it now and try it out.
One thing I'd also like to ask is: how long have you been using Game Maker?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks!

I know that a program cannot be good enough. Someone asks for more. Well that's life, we must know where the limit is, and we must say 'no' sometimes.
Actually I am enjoying making these programs.

I've been using Game Maker since version 5.0. That was the first version I downloaded. So, June 2003, I guess. I am working as a programmer in a company, so Game Maker helps to improve my 'official knowledge'. It is a great fun. :)
  • 0

#39 yODUDE!

yODUDE!

    GMC Member

  • Banned Users
  • 207 posts

Posted 04 August 2005 - 07:09 PM

sorry, i posted something responding to the last page and 10 or so people posted while i was writing the post. :( delete this please.

Edited by yODUDE!, 04 August 2005 - 07:11 PM.


#40 NEED HELP sorta

NEED HELP sorta

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 1501 posts

Posted 04 August 2005 - 08:54 PM

Thanks!

I know that a program cannot be good enough. Someone asks for more. Well that's life, we must know where the limit is, and we must say 'no' sometimes.
Actually I am enjoying making these programs. 

I've been using Game Maker since version 5.0. That was the first version I downloaded. So, June 2003, I guess. I am working as a programmer in a company, so Game Maker helps to improve my 'official knowledge'. It is a great fun.
Cool. :chikin
I've used it since 4.X but, 5.2 (or 3? :( ) came out like a month after, so I just used a slightly older version, lol. ::lmao::
Anyway I was just gonna say that you didn't join that long ago but, as with most of us a lot of Game Making occurs before use of the forums and, it should be that way. ::lmao::
  • 0
http://img159.images...025/scr1ea8.png
http://img374.images...944/scr2hf6.png
Alagaesia Online - Not yet released.

You can bring the release date closer, by helping at the following topics:
Intro Narration
Music Topic

#41 tikki

tikki

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 883 posts

Posted 05 August 2005 - 08:25 PM

how do i add wheels? or do i make my own object?
  • 0

#42 Spengo

Spengo

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 491 posts

Posted 05 August 2005 - 08:27 PM

Dude, wheels are cylinders! XD Comon, d3d_draw_cylinder. You don't need a modeller for that!
  • 0

#43 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 05 August 2005 - 08:39 PM

how do i add wheels? or do i make my own object?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


You cannot add wheels (in these program). You can drag the points to edit the car body.

Dude, wheels are cylinders! XD Comon, d3d_draw_cylinder. You don't need a modeller for that!

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


Thanks! I am just too tired to answer... :D

Anyway I edited the project description (first post). I hope I explained the situation well... :P
  • 0

#44 lostgame

lostgame

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 24 posts

Posted 06 August 2005 - 01:54 AM

if you are registered there is no problem and if you are not registered there is no problem.. so why not download GM 6.1!!!


GM 6.1 caused several problems with MANY of my games, including just black screens (no drawing at all).

So, wether or not you are registered, there is a problem, and if he doesn't want to upgrade because of problems like I had, you can kindly screw off and respect his opinion.

This is an amazing piece of software...
  • 0

#45 KraZKat

KraZKat

    GMC Member

  • Banned Users
  • 87 posts

Posted 21 August 2005 - 04:22 PM

Where do I upload my car n GM6.1 tell me the step by step

#46 stump_corey

stump_corey

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 303 posts

Posted 23 August 2005 - 08:53 PM

open the d3d file in notepad paste the code in create and viola!!!!!!!!!!
  • 0

#47 tom9191

tom9191

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 3 posts

Posted 25 August 2005 - 05:58 PM

hi.
when i want to add da car to GM i put da script but no car appears in my game y is dat??
  • 0

#48 Spengo

Spengo

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 491 posts

Posted 25 August 2005 - 06:08 PM

maybe you should read the manual. ^_^

Create event:
model=d3d_model_create()
//d3d_model_load or model code here
Draw event:
draw_set_color(c_white)
d3d_model_draw(model,0,0,0,sprite_get_texture(sprite,0))

  • 0

#49 silentworks

silentworks

    GMC Member

  • GMC Member
  • 579 posts
  • Version:Unknown

Posted 25 August 2005 - 08:38 PM

Dear Car Creator users,

I am currently working on this project again, so updates will be available soon.
Thank you for your tests and suggestions, it helps me a lot.

If you still have any suggestions, please share with me for the better development.

Thank you!

Features of the next versions:

In step 1.
- texture map for the car
- calculating normals and proper vertex order for backface culling

In step 2.
- possibility of adding/deleting points
- (all other functions from previous versions)
  • 0

#50 ronitmaddy

ronitmaddy

    GMC Member

  • New Member
  • 111 posts

Posted 26 August 2005 - 05:17 AM

how can i use the car in my game

can you give me a code

Posted Image :GM044:
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users